Standby

26 07 2006

I’m supposed to be on the plane to Sao Paulo right now. Maybe I’d be asleep, maybe I’d be curled up in my tiny seat watching a movie or reading or listening to my music. Maybe I’d be talking or practicing Portuguese.

But no. I’m in Queens for the second time today, sitting at Dennis’ sister’s computer and wondering when I’ll ever get to Brazil. I was on standby tonight and I didn’t even know it. I had no idea; no one told me that they didn’t have a seat for me on the flight. But now I’m $400 richer and a day behind in my travels.

 It’s incredible to see how fiercely people freak out when things don’t go their way. It’s INCREDIBLE and a little embarassing to see how violently mean people get. There was a woman, also on standby, who absolutely lost her shit. She was screaming at the ticket agent, screaming on the phone, swearing up and down about Delta Airlines. I blushed for her because her mouth was so foul. I stood there at the counter, calmly waiting for my vouchers or check for my inconveniences (yippee) and a reassignment of another flight and I was totally embarassed by this woman. I felt so bad for the ticket agents. They must get that kind of stuff all the time.

 Well, the whole problem was that flights to Sao Paulo, and to Brazil in general I think, have been cut back. So although there are still the same number of people flying there, there are fewer flights. And I happened to be one of the people who couldn’t fit. So…long story short: I’m still on standby and won’t know until tomorrow at about this time if I’ll be able to go down tomorrow. I am not thrilled.

However, if I keep up this standby junk, then I’ll keep collecting money, which is really nice. I don’t mind earning a few extra hundred bucks for not doing anything except waiting. And now that I get another night with Dennis and his family, it’s totally worth it. And there is really no point in me flipping out. I just kept saying, “Just go with the flow, don’t push anything, there’s probably a reason for this.” And it worked out. Why get myself all worked up and angry and have all that negativity coursing through my veins? I met some really nice people who helped me out: food vouchers, gum, cell phone, directions…I think if you’re nice, people will help you. If you’re a dick, then good luck.

The good-bye at the airport was one of the hardest things in the world. SO emotional, but good and exciting and loving all at the same time. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get on a flight tomorrow because I’m not sure I can handle another evening like tonight’s with all the crying and confusion and emotion.

Keep your fingers crossed for me, please.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

