I am “Ms. C”

18 08 2006

My official name from the kids at Escola America de Campinas is “Ms. C.” Some of them call me Ms. Coggio, and their accents make my name sound so much nicer–a long “o” and a soft “g”…it sounds beautiful and intriguing (and obviously reflects who I am…)

So all day long, I hear: “Ms. C!” “Ms. C, I have a question!” “Ms. C, can I get a drink of water?” “Boa tarde, Ms. C!” My student who calls me Queen comes now to visit me whenever he has a spare moment. “Just making a visit, Ms. C.” He walked with me up from the cantina today and said, “I am going to make company with you.” And I replied, “Oh how nice! You’re a good kid!” and he said, “You’re a good teacher.”

I had an overwhelmingly awesome English class today. I have been really successful with one of my two classes especially, in which there are two boys who were on the verge of transferring to another school last year because they weren’t able to keep up with the demanding work load. One of the boys reminds me so much of some of the boys who were in my own middle school and so I especially want to see him succeed. He struggles with everything–even handwriting–and I know English is probably his least favorite subject. But in the last week, I have used different methods and have had a lot of fun in class, and he seems really interested. This class has a unique feeling. I feel like a real teacher, I feel like I am really happy with them. (My other class is the one I have to switch classrooms with, and so overall, that class feels less warm and lovey.) In a small way, I feel proud of myself for having a successful week with the first class and I really proud of myself for pulling for this kid and making sure he feels good about himself and successful in English. Just a minute ago, he poked his head in the room to look at the projects I had posted on the bulletin board. I told him he did really well in class today.

“Really?” he asked.

“Yeah, you did. And I want to see more of that.”

“Okay.”

 I am looking forward to the weekend, definitely, but for the first time in a long time, I am looking forward to seeing my kids next week.

Actions

Information

10 responses

18 08 2006
Michelle

Don’t forget NOT to pick favorites!

18 08 2006
gina coggio

Oh, trust me. I know not to pick favorites. And with this incredible change of learning environment, I’m just happy to be with kids who aren’t outright rude to me. They’re all my favorites at this point.
But also, this is a super demanding school…and this student, I will call him “Sam,” is a total underdog. Very poor skills all around. So I can’t help but root for him. I feel like he feels completely unsuccessful…so if I can show him he is successful in my class, then I’ve done my job. Our school is incredibly competitive with grades–all the kids are super responsible and intelligent. This kid doesn’t necessarily fit the mold–and that’s why I feel so strongly about helping him.

18 08 2006
Michelle

Great!

I understand, and I’m sure I speak for everyone else who reads this blog, too.

Thanks for reading and replying to my comment!

Good luck and glad you’re having a good and successful time so far!

18 08 2006
gina coggio

No–Thank you for taking time to read this. It’s hard sometimes to be writing and writing and reaching out to my friends (and people I don’t know at all) and not hearing anything back from anyone. So to hear from anyone at this point (because I’m not exactly getting a lot of e-mail either) is a godsend. Kind of like when you shout into a canyon and expect to hear an echo right away…(Not that I shout into canyons or anything..). I’m here shouting and shouting and the echo still hasn’t come. Kind of a lonely feeling. Only sometimes, though. Thanks for the echo.

19 08 2006
Michelle

Aw. Okay. Totally understand. Well, maybe I’ll try to comment more often! Know that many many people read this everyday, even if they don’t comment. Keep writing! (You write it; they’ll come).

19 08 2006
Marissa

OH MY! If I had known you were looking for that echo I would have obliged long ago! I read often and while I sit in Westville reading your adventures with my two young kids playing behind me I live vicariously through your experiences. Believe me, there are many readers that you touch with your warm and honest narratives. In fact my husband laughs at me because when we went to Roomba for dinner with friends one night you were our server and I spent the whole night wanting to tell you I read your work in the Independant! I ended up leaving a note (with the website for the necklace I was wearing that you liked). I truly admire your gumption and wish I had a fraction of your nerve and drive. Keep writing, for yourself and for those you inspire.

19 08 2006
gina coggio

Marissa!
Oh, I remember you!! You left the website and I was so grateful that you left the note about the writing, too. I wanted to go back and say thank you, but you had gone!
(I also lost that website for the necklace…could you post it again? I will be glad to link to your friend’s site here.)

Thank you for your words….on a day like today, which has so far been not fantastic, you have boosted my spirit. Thank you…

19 08 2006
Candy

Gina,
Yes, lots of us back here are reading and savoring your adventures long-distance. I loved your post about teaching a class without speaking. What a creative teacher you are! I’m reading, if not every day, at least three times a week. Keep writing….

21 09 2006
Victor Pinto

Nice Ms. C thanks

21 09 2006
Victor Pinto

and is that me you are talking in the end

Leave a Reply

