The one with the food.

28 11 2006

food

This is about as good as it gets, folks. This was my fancy dinner this week. I went all out. I’m talkin’ iceberg lettuce, avocado, and soy apple juice out of a box. I don’t know…can you actually find the food in the picture? I don’t think I have ever eaten a meal that was entirely the same color, or variations of the same color. It’s all…blondish greenish. (Can food even be blonde?)

Taking that picture inspired me to take others about the food in my house.
dsc01104.JPG

From left to right: soy juice, what soy apple juice looks like, avocado (1/2), popcorn, olive oil, milk. These are the things I use on a regular basis. Currently, and probably to the shame of my mother and Dennis’, this is what my refrigerator looks like:
fridge

Yeah, not much. Just lots of juice, cheese, and condiments. I feel like I am in college again, except my fridge is bigger, it’s in my own dorm room, and I don’t have to share showers with forty strangers. It’s so pathetic. Here I am, a 27 year-old woman who only eats food she can pour, squeeze, or pop. Except in the case of avocados, in which case, I require only a knife and spoon. (I can hear Dennis’ mom now: “You’re crazy! You’re not eating! You’re gonna die there!” to which I will simply respond, “Oh trust me, I’m eating.”)

What happened to my desire to cook elaborate meals, have my cabinets full of spices and own a full set of fine wine glasses? My friends here cook big meals for us and I am really happy to join in. The eating of it, I mean. Join in the eating of the big meals. But screw cooking. No desire. Love the idea of it, but totally without the means, desire, or skills. Or color palette.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

