The upcoming weekend.

30 03 2007

People keep asking me what it’s like to finally have Dennis here. I don’t know what to say to this because, of course I’m happy to have him here. But because he arrived on a Tuesday, I have been working ever since from 7:30 in the morning until 5 at night. And so, when they ask me what it’s like to have him here, I have to be honest and say I’m not quite sure. I’m not with him most of the day and when I’m here at school it’s like nothing has changed–like he never arrived.

But ask me what it’s like to come home after work and find that he’s there…on that, my friends, I could wax poetic for hours. He’s been in Brazil for three nights and on each night we’ve done something different: ordered pizza in and watched a movie, gone out for comida Mineira, and been treated to rodizo churrasco by a parent. These evenings have been lovely, but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t looking forward to this weekend so that we can have entire days together from start to finish and neither of us will have to dress up in work clothes.

He’s kept himself busy, too, using Rosetta Stone to learn Portuguese, getting around by bus, figuring out the language little by little. He’s also begun tutoring here at school, so yesterday even though my teaching day had ended, I waited around until 5 when he finished tutoring and we took a cab home together.

This weekend is wide open for possibility. Maybe a trip to São Paulo, maybe the hippie fair, maybe an early morning walk, maybe a late night samba bar. I don’t know. But I do know how thankful I am for this afternoon, for 3:30 on the dot, for being able to walk into my apartment and find him there, to hear about his day.

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 04 2007
MILLETTE

GINA!!! I miss Brasil SOOOOOOOOOOOOO much! I have been chatting with people online and watching a show called city of men from Rio that is awesome. Glad to know you have your man with you. Be safe and keep in touch!

2 04 2007
Suzette

Hi Gina,
Hope you are well, it sounds like things are great. I am very happy for you.
I was searching craigslist and saw something that might interest Dennis for the summer
http://newhaven.craigslist.org/tfr/302303358.html

Have a great time together, hope to ee you next time you are in Ct.

3 04 2007
ginacoggio

Hi Suzette! I’ll pass that along to him! I’ll be coming home June 21st and I’ve heard SO many good things about bespoke…I’ll definitely come by for a visit! (And a meal, of course. Dennis’ pictures of the food look awesome.)

3 04 2007
ginacoggio

Millette–I was just thinking of you the other day. We’re planning a trip up to Rio again, although I don’t think we’ll be going to city. Hoping to stay in little beach towns along the way and then we’ll go back and do the city a couple weeks later. Keep up your Portuguese! You’ll need it when you take my spot!

Leave a Reply

