Tuesday: the most uneventful day of the week.

15 05 2007

Does the title of this post turn you off? Does it make you think that since this is an uneventful day this post itself will be uneventful? Well, it should. Because the most I’ve got for you today is stuff about ants. I found them in my kitchen sink this morning and there must have been seven hundred of them. The ants here aren’t like the big ants that live in the States and that remind me of blackberries when I smush them (which is why I have a difficult time eating blackberries, since they remind me of smushed ants). These ants are nearly microscopic and they run faster than you can imagine. You’d be hard pressed to find an ant that can run faster than this Brazilian kind. They may have shorter legs than your mainstream ant, but what they lack in size they definitely make up for in speed. Ahem. They also like coming to school with me, favoring an American education over Brazilian, since I find them in my school bag in the morning, so it appears they’re interested in travel and languages. Who knew?  Even killing them is interesting probably because I want to see if I can squish them before they run away. It’s like a game, really. They’re not obnoxious; mostly they just keep to their own territories–the kitchen sink, and, oddly enough, my computer. They’re quiet, they don’t complain, and most of them end up drowning overnight in whatever cups or bowls I’ve left out to soak (see: procrastination.) We co-exist peacefully, other than the occasional mass extermination by thumb, but I won’t lie when I tell you it makes me slightly uncomfortable to know I’m the girl who lives with ants. Ant Girl, or something like that. I’ve got ant sprays and anti-ant stuff, but these little things are resistant to it. They will scramble and crawl through a ten-second dousing of this spray and walk away like it was only a sprinkle of rain, not liquid intended to kill them. They’re pretty miraculous creatures. It would just be nice not to live with them.

And now, as we approach the end of this marvelous post, I’d like to remind you again of my subject title and thank you very much for your patience. Tomorrow, I’ll have something of more value than ants to offer you.*

(*= but there’s no guarantee. It will be Wednesday, and Wednesday is the second most uneventful day of the week, followed by Thursday.)

Actions

Information

7 responses

15 05 2007
Gabriel

I posted about my adtoption from Romania just for you.

Gabru\iel 😦

15 05 2007
Gabriel

Sorry misspelled my name..lol

15 05 2007
Gerhardt

That cost me *two* minutes of my life, thank you very much. Two minutes I’ll never get back aaaaarrrgghhh. 🙂 Oh, btw, I know those little ants that you speak of. And the other kind as well. Just 40 minutes’ drive from Campinas you’ll find a little town called Indiatuba. My inlaws live there. Well, there they have the other kind of ants. These suckers can take your finger off. And they are immune to being squashed. I tried once, jumping on one. Nearly took my foot with him, the little bugger.

15 05 2007
ginacoggio

What ARE these ants? Where do they come from? Are they related to cockroaches? What can I do to get rid of them? They are made, it seems, from the tiniest bits of steel known to man and they run like the wind. I can’t stand them! What can I do?!

16 05 2007
Gerhardt

Try and find where they enter your apartment. Then stick a sign next to it that says “No ants allowed”. If that does not work, use a sugar trap. or a blowtorch. or chili. even steel melts, eventually.

16 05 2007
Marissa

Have you tried talking to them? I hear ants are very reasonable creatures.

16 05 2007
ginacoggio

Funny you mention that…just had coffee with them this morning. I figured I’d wait until later this afternoon to talk to them about our living arrangements….you know, don’t want to start off their day on the wrong foot. Or set of feet. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

