Not good news.

18 07 2007

My friend Davis wrote me this morning asking if I was okay, if my students and Dennis were okay. He mentioned something about Brazil, and so I checked out the Times.

This is what I read.

Clearly I’m fine and not in Brazil. But I will not even tempt myself into going on about how this does nothing for my fear of flying. This accident happened at the domestic airline in Sao Paulo, Congonhas Airport. I’ve never been there. All international flights enter and leave from Cumbica Airport, also in Sao Paulo. I don’t know what this flight means for my students, considering I’m not sure where or when they were traveling this summer, or for the faculty at our school. I am praying this crash hasn’t affected our community at all. I doubt I’ll hear anything soon from the school about this, so I’ll write them later today or tomorrow. I do have a good friend who flies back and forth from Porto Alegre to SP, but I doubt he took a mid-week flight. I’m sure everything is alright down there.


Actions

Information

6 responses

18 07 2007
Reena

Hi, Ms.C

I was reading in the VEJA Magazine about this caos at the airports (did you see all the caos in the last couple of weeks??) the goverment invested in airports that didm’t need to instead of investing in Cumbica and Congonhas because they are the busiest airports in Brazil. The government needs to build a new airport in Sao Paulo two times bigger then Cumbica until 2012 or else this caos will continue. The airports are to small for the number of people they are receiving every year. If the government woun’t wake up and don’t invest in airports accidents and all the caos will still continue in Brazil.

18 07 2007
Reena

For more information about the government in Brazil there is an article in the magazine called “The Economist” of july 6th 2007 page 51. Read it. It will explain all the situation that Brazil is in, (in English).

18 07 2007
ginacoggio

Renato–Thank you SO much for citing the Economist! (nice evidence!!!) Did you find it online? I agree with you that the traffic coming through Sao Paulo is waaaay too much for the two airports to handle. I haven’t been there since late June so I don’t know about all the recent chaos you’re talking about. Something big needs to happen there. Hopefully this is a call to the world about the major problems Brazil is having.

20 07 2007
Chich

I’m sort off scared cause before I used to live in Porto Alegre and I met French people there and to go to France you need to take a plane to go from Porto Alegre to São Paulo and from São Paulo to Paris and from Paris to whatever other place in France. One of my teachers that I had there was going to France with her two kids that same day and was in an airplane that was going from Porto Alegre to São Paulo. I don’t have knews from her and I don’t know if she was in that airplane or not.

20 07 2007
ginacoggio

Hi Chich…I’m sorry to hear about that coincedence. I hope your teacher wasn’t on that flight. How can you find out? Are you back in Brazil now?

21 07 2007
Chich

I’m back from France and I’m gonna have to wait a year to be able to go back. (To long). I got a message from her this morning and she told me that she decided to go two days later to France so she wasn’t in that flight. It’s good to know that nothing happened to her!

Leave a Reply

