Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow…

25 07 2007

I had visions yesterday of returning to Brazil, one of which occurred in the middle of the night and woke me up thinking, “Oh God. I’m going back the-day-after-the-day-after-tomorrow.” Once I get into the “day after” mode, it’s all down hill. I start calculating days and hours and questionning if I’ve done everything I wanted to (to which, if my credit card could speak, would respond with a deafening “hell yes, and please stop.”) And of course, no thanks to all the press the Brazilian aviation administration has been garnering in recent weeks, I begin to think about all the things that could go wrong with my flights. This time, rather than the direct flight from JFK to Sao Paulo, I am catching a flight from JFK to Atlanta, an airport notorious for flight problems, mostly because I think every flight I’ve ever been on that has gone anywhere near Atlanta has been cancelled, delayed, stuck in the clouds because of bad weather, or grounded because of bad behavior. Whatever the case, four months ago when I booked this flight, I thought it’d be a fabulous idea to have multiple opportunities to get bumped and thus have the chance to get a seat upgrade or, better yet, cash. It happened to me before and I scored big time. Then again, it was unplanned back then. Just watch: now that I’ve carved out room in my schedule to allow for upsets, I’ll be on that first flight back to Brazil, sitting on the aisle seat next to a fourteen year old boy who wants to go to the bathroom every nine minutes, thereby interrupting my deep and peaceful sleep upright in a pleather seat. Just watch.

You may be wondering how my last bunch of hours here will be spent. Me too. There are exactly three things that I know are happening, all of which I am looking forward to doing: Number 1: Party at Bottega to celebrate my friend Mia’s XXth birthday. Number 2: Victoria’s Secret gift certificate spending. Number 3: BBQ at my friends’ house on Wooster Square with the added bonus (is that redundant?) of getting to meet an important person at a local private school where maybe, just maybe, there might be a place for me in the future.

So with all that said, I am now off to bring Dennis to work. This is how our days go: he wakes up, takes a shower, wakes me up, and then I bring him to work, after which I am left to my own devices for at least twelve hours, and then we are reunited just in time to fall asleep. Last night it worked out well because I got to go out with a good friend (Hi Vicki!) and we ate Mexican food and talked ourselves into oblivion about books! boys! and toll booth operators!

Dennis just walked in from his shower. He asked, “Are you ready to go to work?” And I answered with a hearty “No.” I mean this. I mean it because A) I don’t have to work here, and B) I’m not ready to go back to the place where I really do work.

But such is life and we’re never, ever ready to go back to work after being in heaven. (Dennis NOW just asked me, “Why are you so awake this morning?” And I said, in the middle of the typing, “I just am, don’t bother me anymore.” For the record, I have NO control over what I’m saying while I’m typing, so words that come out of my mouth don’t count. And so he responded, “You’re mean in the morning. Where’s my girlfriend who loved me? She used to be nice.”) So on that note, I’m going to go try to find her and bring this sucker to work.


Actions

Information

10 responses

25 07 2007
Chich

Relax Ms.C! Even if your almost going back to Brazil it’s ok your going to come back in December. Plus if you only think “Oh no it’s almost the day!” the last days you’re going to be there are going to be terrible because you’re gonna be stressed! Think this way, “I’m going back to brazil soon but I still have some days left so I better have fun! Plus I’m gonna see my students again and I’m gonna have knew ones and time is gonna fly and I’ll be back in the US again!” Again relax and have fun!

25 07 2007
Lorraine

True, If you get carried away with thoughts about coming back you won’t enjoy the last days you have there, in heaven as you put it. Think about the present and of how much you can do in one day instead of concentrating on the-after-the-day-after- tomorrow.

25 07 2007
ginacoggio

Oh, you two are so smart and full of wisdom. Have you finished all the books I gave you at the start of vacation? Have you had enough time to read?

25 07 2007
Jennie

I laughed out loud at your credit card’s remarks.
: )

And yes, I think added bonus is redundant. The definition of bonus is something given or paid over and above what is due.

25 07 2007
ginacoggio

I thought it looked weird. But somehow, “bonus” sounds empty. Everyone always says, “added bonus this” and “added bonus that,” so I figured I’d follow suit. Ignorant, redundant suit, but I’d still follow it.

25 07 2007
Reena

Good look Ms.C did you know that there are no control towers in the Amazon?. I read that in revista VEJA. My dad was comming back from Chicago to Brazil when the flight reached the caribbean they could not comunicate with brazil. Guess what he hadto do an “emergency” landing in Miami. Almost all the flight that go to and from USA pass trhough or near the Amazon in this article they said that there were 45 flights undentified they were like ghosts flying. There are a lot of chances of crashes since there are no comunications

Good Luck

25 07 2007
Lorraine

I only finished The Glass Castle and Girl Interrupted and still need to read A house on Mango Street. The two books i did read were amazing. Since i didn’t get a chance to see chich after she came back from france so we didn’t exchange any of the books.

26 07 2007
ginacoggio

I’m so glad you liked the books! Would you recommend those books to other people?

27 07 2007
Chich

No I didn’tfinsh all the books you gave me because I was in France and now I’m in another place. I just need to read “When I was Puerto Rican”.

27 07 2007
ginacoggio

Lorraine–didn’t you LOVE “The Glass Castle?!”

Leave a Reply

