Oh, thank God for all that is Friday.

3 08 2007

What are the “living daylights,” and why is it that the only time they seem to be around is when something’s scared them out of me? For instance: I was about to begin this post by saying the dream I’d had this afternoon scared the living daylights out of me, and then I got to wondering what the hell they were to begin with and entirely forgot what the post was going to say. A result of more thinking in the kitchen, though this time I’m far from a flame.

I came home today and tossed myself on my bed and into the deepest sleep I’ve had in a long time. I find I sleep best all year on the very first Friday night of the first week of school. This year I couldn’t even make it to night. It was the very first Friday at 4 o’clock in the afternoon of the school year and I was knocked out cold. In fact, I was so solidly asleep that as I was drifting back into consciousness, I convinced myself it was only Thursday and thought, “Well, that’s a shame. I’m not going to be able to sleep in for another two days.” And then, to top it off, I searched high and low for the popcorn bowl I could have sworn was on the floor, not realizing I’d already brought it to the sink two hours earlier, and wondering if perhaps I’d dreamed I’d eaten all that popcorn. Don’t I wish. I’ve made myself soup and gotten into pajamas since I awoke from my nap, but even now I can’t guarantee I’m actually awake and probably won’t fully wake up until just before it’s time to go to bed at a normal hour.

This was the day that didn’t end. I taught back-to-back from 8 until 1 with just one short break and an abbreviated lunch. Remember that class I was eager to teach? the speech and drama class? it’s not happening. We’d had our first real class just this morning, during which I introduced “Titus Andronicus” and they were into it! And now…? It’s been relegated to an After School Activity. I’m actually glad it’s that now since I can get more kids to participate. Even my old 7th graders who expressed interest in Shakespeare last year. So that’s good.

Ah, but you don’t want to hear about work. You want to hear about how I was offered a free flight to Rio and a free place to stay right there in Copa during Carnaval in February. I want to hear that, too. And I also want to hear that Dennis will be here tomorrow. It’s not the case, again, but there’s wishful thinking.

What is the case is that my friend Jake is coming to visit me. He’ll be here on Wednesday from Illinois and he’s coming to Brazil for a conference. I haven’t seen him in ten years and so it’s like the best reunion ever in the world. He’s going to stay with me for one night and then he’s going over to Santos, on the coast until the following week. I’m going to catch a bus to Santos to visit with him over the weekend and it’s going to be marvelous.

Other than that, not much is happening. I adore weekends and I want this one to go by very slowly.  I hope you have a wonderful couple of days and frankly, it’ll be a miracle if I make another online appearance considering it’s all I can do right now to sit up and lean against the wall while I’m typing. I feel another bout of sleep coming on strong and…I….can’t…resist….

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

