Monkey gangs.

6 08 2007

Maybe my gangster dream was precursor to the drama on campus. We have rival monkeys now. Last year, we had one quiet little family comprised of five or six monkeys. They were cute, they ate bananas on a regular basis, and they were loved by our whole community.

Enter Monkey Family #2.

 Today I’ve heard nothing but monkey screams all over campus. It’s not really screaming, it’s really more like loud beeping. They have this unbelievably high pitched scream that sounds like it’s more mechanical than animal. It’s pretty crazy. So now, Original Monkey Family is at odds with New Monkey Family over territory. They’re running across the roof, jumping wildly from trees, and beeping/screaming all over the place, including over the shoes of one of my former students. And they’re the full grown monkeys, which doesn’t really mean much since they’re the size of bananas themselves, but they have teeth. And I guess when the monkeys are feeling violently territorial, it doesn’t matter if they’re the size of bananas or bookshelves, because if they’ve got teeth, watch out.

So, that’s the deal with today.

Actions

Information

15 responses

6 08 2007
Jake

Phew – i thought I was – gonna have to play the role of the gangster. I am not very good at that role. I am glad the monkeys took it. Now I am free to play the role of absent minded professor – at which I excel!

See you soon!

6 08 2007
Sofy

Those monkeys…hell-spawn creatures. People don’t get that those cute little faces can be so scary and mean when they’re up in your face. We were surrounded. There were monkeys on all sides…very, very traumatizing.
Monkeys are evil. 👿

6 08 2007
Alvy

Hey Baby C! I don’t know if you ever understood anything when we told you about our monkey attack, but my version is in my blog! I still don’t take back what I said before: these monkeys are devil-worshipers! They totally made a ritual with us, but instead of us suround an odd and bloody pentagram, we were in the middle, and I guess that’s a lot worst, since SOMETHING’S gotta happen in the middle of the pentagram, and it’s definetly worst than… You got my point, right? Well, it was scary it was like a choir of the beepy screeches, it was VERY unpleasent, and then of them finally moved and decided to live in Cary’s shoes, but since we were screaming so loudly, he/she/both/none ran away… We’re like the monkey slayers… heh… “The Trinity, Monkey Slayers.” Hire us if your class is invaded by monkeys… No, you don’t have to hire us, it’s a calling… We were chosen… to slay monkeys? Well, bye!

6 08 2007
Rob

I worked as a monkey grappler one summer in grad school. They were not nice monkeys. Fortunately for me, I was a bigger, stronger, better trained monkey. Otherwise? Curtains. Keep an eye out for flying poo. Dirty little monkeys!

7 08 2007
ginacoggio

Alvaro, that was a fairly disturbing comment. I’ll check in on you at school today just to make sure you’re feeling alright. And Rob, why doesn’t it surprise me that you worked with monkeys? You may be a brilliant NASA engineer (or not, I forget where you work) but it seems fitting that you worked with primates. hee hee.

7 08 2007
Rob

I caught myself just the other day. I do this thing on a regular basis and have been, until a few days ago, COMPLETELY unaware of it. I get up from my desk, take a couple steps and stretch… chest out, shoulders back, and then…….. I beat my chest. I kid you not. I rise up on my hind legs, throw my head back and beat my chest. Its the most rediculous thing ever and I’ve done it for years 8-(
In grad school, when I was still lifting weights and eating more than lettuce, there were some who called me silverback. Terrible.

7 08 2007
Alvy

Hey Baby C! I guess I got too carried away, maybe it was all that monkey raidation in which we were exposed to…

7 08 2007
ginacoggio

Rob: Still not surprised.
Alvaro: monkey radiation? Where do you get these ideas??????

7 08 2007
Alvy

Man, I seem to be writing many weird things today, “it was all that monkey RADIATION (Not raidation)!”

I still continue with the same statement: Monkey radiation, it exists you know, I’m living proof… That’s the reason for my weirdness, actually, extra-weirdness… and also the reason for my total illiterate day… I don’t like monkeys anymore!

7 08 2007
ginacoggio

Actually, I didn’t see them today. Did you? I saw Lucia running from the copy room up toward the maintenance building because apparently two of them had gotten inside and were causing havoc, but I don’t know. Campus was eerily quiet today, wouldn’t you say?

What did you do with them?

7 08 2007
Sofy

I climbed the trees and found them all, made them drop down to the ground, dragged them by their tails to that place behind the library, and beat them to death with a baseball bat. For all the terror they caused me.

Campus is never quiet.

7 08 2007
ginacoggio

Shame on you! Rob would be terrified to know what you did to his species!

7 08 2007
Rob

I……am not……… an ANIMAAALLLL!!!
…………………
………………
ok. Who are we kidding?
No one. That’s who.
I’m gonna go climb a tree and bark at the moon.
8-(

ps. and while i am mildly horrified, i do applaud young sofy for her ambition, inginuity and ability to follow through. well done. (if they were half the monkeys they should be they would have bitten her on her little tuckus and sent her on her way! lazy munkeys!!)

7 08 2007
Sofy

Sorry, Rob.

8 08 2007
Sofy

Thanks, Rob.

Leave a Reply

