Oh, for the love of God. I just want to sleep.

24 08 2007

I just woke up. It is 11:02 pm and I am about to go out to celebrate my friend’s birthday. We are going to a dance club and I don’t like either of those words, dance or club. But it is a birthday party and this is the kind of sacrifice you make for someone you love: you dance when you have no idea how. I can speak Portuguese better than I can dance. And that’s saying something.

I went out to dinner with Mandy tonight, to have Arabic food. It was fabulous and we left feeling completely satisfied with bellies full of quibe and homus and a vodka drink each. It was just enough of everything to make me fall asleep soundly for a half hour before needing to wake up and take a shower for tonight’s events.

Am I a wimp? Seriously, Internet, am I a complete loser here? Is there something wrong with the fact that I find it terribly tiring to take a shower at 10:45 at night and apply the same make-up I put on at 7:15 this morning? Am I so lifeless as to find nothing appealing about going out at midnight on a Friday to a dance club? At this point, the only thing I’m looking forward to is coming back home and I can’t begin to tell you how honest I’m being. One might say I’m being pessimistic but in my defense, I’m a friggin’ teacher. Friday night is the sacred night for all of us and I know I’m not speaking for just myself here. I’m spent and exhausted and what have you. Maybe 9-5ers have a different opinion, but for me a Friday night is just about as precious as a four-hour massage on the top of Mount Olympus with a  masseuse named Gustavo who’s wearing nothing more than a pair of loose white linen pants and who knows just enough English to say, “Does that feel good?” Oh hell yes, that feels good.

Tonight, then, feels like I’ve got the Gustavo and the Mount Olympus and the “does that feel good,” and then suddenly I’m interrupted by my mom, bless her heart, carrying leftover  stir-fried vegetables and asking me to balance her check book after I’m done cleaning out the cat litter.

Rain, parade, yadda, yadda, yadda.

Eh, it’s just one night.


Actions

Information

3 responses

24 08 2007
Tina (aka Mom)

Just one minute, Miss !! How did I ever get to deserve this role ?? And would I EVER ask YOU to balance MY checkbook? I think not…. heh heh heh ….

25 08 2007
ginacoggio

No, Ma….I’m just sayin’….you know…like…..actually, I don’t even think I’ve seen a checkbook in about four years. So, you raise a good point.

27 08 2007
Jennie

I am SO with you. I feel like I’m an eighty-year old trapped in an almost 30-year old body. I don’t like going out and am content sitting at home on my couch eating (homemade!) popcorn.

Leave a Reply

