Film and Food in Sao Paulo.

26 08 2007

Fifteen hours after eating chicken curry at Shopping Morumbi in Sao Paulo, I can still taste it. And not in the good way, either; not in the way that is like, “Oooohhh, remember that glorious red curry from last night? how spicy and delicious?” No, I’m tasting it in the way that’s like, “Ugh. Still? Again? This is disgusting.” In fact, not only can I taste it, I can feel it sitting in the pit of my stomach, grumbling around occasionally like it’s refusing to go anywhere else, like it’s just kind of sitting around, waiting for the bus to come. I felt it all last night, all through the night while I should have been sleeping, and now here I am four hours after waking up and it’s still just sitting there. The last time I felt like this I had food poisoning. So we’ll see where this takes me.

Besides this cement-like Thai food, last night was awesome. Mandy and I left Campinas around 1:30 and made it to the city center around 3. We took the Metro to the MASP stop (the SP Art Museum) and then a quick, cheap cab to a cinema to see part of a week-long short film festival. The twelve entries we saw were music videos, and while I admit disappointment in that fact alone–MTV never was my thing, despite my addiction to The Real World–it was interesting to see what kinds of things people were doing with film. Some of the films were fabulous–really inventive and fun to watch. This one was one of my favorites:

Apple on a Tree

And here’s another:

Defaced

After the film festival, we went to Shopping Morumbi where I had a healthy intake of dangerous Thai food and followed it up with two cups of Starbucks White Chocolate Mochas. We took the bus back to Campinas and I was sitting in my apartment by 11:50. It was such an easy trip to the city, which is nice considering all the other times we’ve gone it’s been one headache after another, and in fact it was so nice that we decided to go again next Friday, bringing our other friends to enjoy the shows and food. Except this time we’ll avoid Thai and go for something a little less destructive to our systems.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

