Conspiracy theory: My Blog & The Girl Scouts

14 09 2007

I couldn’t get onto WordPress at all yesterday, either here at school or at home. And go figure, I had some things to say. After my thirty seventh attempt at loading my own page, I realized I wasn’t going to be able to get onto it to write, and figured I’d said something so flagrant about the Girl Scouts that WordPress had decided to shut down my blog for good.

It’s been a rough two days at school, having walked out on one of my classes to send them a message to pull their behavior together. Today was infinitely better and we talked at length about what happened and what caused it to happen and what to do to prevent that from happening ever again. I still don’t feel very good about myself, but what I wanted was to see a change in behavior for the better. Today I did, and so the message must have gotten through.

 It’s not easy being a classroom teacher and sometimes we are driven to do and say things we wouldn’t normally on a day when everything is smooth sailing. Yesterday I’d reached my limit of trying different strategies and before I knew it, I was out the door, to everyone’s surprise including my own. I wanted nothing more than to go home and write about it, and couldn’t even do that. I figured those damn Scouts have spies all over the Internet cruising for bad press and maybe they’d put some kind of hex on my blog when they’d read about the Girl Scout Crime of the 20th Century. I figured if I gave it a few hours’ rest that maybe things would get better and I’d be able to get onto the site, but even this morning I couldn’t get on. So what’d I do? I wrote a nice letter to the tech people at school and lo and behold, I’m here. (Was anyone else having difficulties?)

I don’t have much planned this weekend, though I’m busy with something everyday. I’m sure, come Monday, I’ll have stories to tell, but if I don’t have access to the blog until then, have a nice weekend!

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 09 2007
Jennie

When I was student teaching, I accidentally told one class to shut up. I guess now that I look back on it, I could have said much worse things, but for some reason it was a taboo word with this specific class and I felt so horrible after it happened. But they wouldn’t shut up and I had had all I could take. Anyway, I agree. It’s definitely not easy to be a classroom teacher and I think you are probably an amazing teacher. Wish I could be a fly on the wall.

I thought the Girl Scout post was funny. I didn’t have trouble with WordPress yesterday. Strange.

14 09 2007
endithinks

Don’t beat yourself up about walking out of the classroom. The important part of the whole incident is that you came back and discussed what happened.
Students sometimes forget that the person they are dealing with is in fact a person. As long as honesty and openness is encouraged in your classroom it will be fine.

15 09 2007
ginacoggio

You know, I think teachers make so many mistakes on a daily basis–letting words slip out, saying “yes” to one kid and “no” to another–it is the most draining and equally rewarding job I’ve ever had. I’ve had to be okay with making mistakes and learning how to be fair and consistent.

Thanks to both of you for the support!

Leave a Reply

