Saturday morning, at school.

15 09 2007

You read that correctly. I’m at school. I’m waiting to teach an SAT class and, since I’m still having trouble with WordPress at home, I’m taking advantage of the school’s access and writing here. Last year I couldn’t get onto gmail at home for a few days, so I’m hoping this thing with the blog will be temporary only.

I also just woke up. I was supposed to be here at 9 this morning to begin class. But I opened my eyes at 8:22, even though I’d set my alarm clock for a full two hours ahead so I could shower, read, and drink coffee. Needless to say, I did none of those things and instead threw on the clothes I was wearing last night to dinner with Mandy, and ran out the door knowing I needed to get to class at least a few minutes early to set up and prepare.  Somewhere in the tossing and turning of last night I must have turned the volume all the way down on the alarm clock. I hate it when that happens.

But this morning, I have to say, is beautiful. Despite the fact that I didn’t have much time to appreciate it as I was actually waking up, now that I’m here in my classroom and there are no students and other people around to be noisy, I can truly appreciate what a nice day it is and how beautiful this campus is. I’ve been here on Saturdays before, for large school events, but never by myself. I’m the only teacher here today and the rest are security guards and maintence men and women. I like this space and silence a lot, and for just a second a little while ago, I thought, as I walked down the hallway, that I might want to make this a regular thing–showing up on Saturday mornings to work and be quiet.

Ooh! Ooh! But I have NEWS!!!!!! Really awesome EXCITING news!!!!! News that I haven’t QUITE figured out entirely, but oh, it’s REALLY good!!!!  News involving PLANS!!!! I know it’s not fair to do this to you just yet but I’m going to because I need to tell some important people first before I tell the world, to see what they have to say, but let’s just say I’m SUPER excited!!! May the plethora of exclamation points speak for themselves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So while I’m here waiting for kids to show up, I’m leading you on with this News! and listening to last.fm. I’m also figuring out how I’m going to use the rest of my day. Mandy gave me a copy of Equus to borrow so we can talk about the symbolism at the end of the film, and so part of my day may incorporate watching a DVD, although it’s so beautiful I almost feel like going out into the country and sitting in the sun. I don’t now how I’ll get there without a car, or what “the country” means, considering it’s kind of all country here, minus the tall buildings, but I feel like that’s where I want to be.

Oh, I’m also planning another trip, this time with Mandy, to Pouso da Cajaíba, an island similar to Ilha do Cardoso, although it’s in the state of Rio de Janeiro. It, too, has no electricity and you have to take a schooner to get there, so it’ll be a fabulous trip and will be all day in the sun and on the beach. That’s in October. And then the following week, Mandy, Cheyenne, Kendra, and I are going up to Rio again for the AASSA conference! So much traveling on the horizon! (And what’s better, is that when that’s all said and done, Dennis will be here, and it’ll be November, which is the month of several days off of school to travel more! I love Brazil.)

 Okay, I’m going to go read the Times. Have a great Saturday and I’m convinced I won’t be able to get back on the site all weekend until Monday. So in that case, to keep you busy, you can look at the website of Pouso da Cajaíba.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

