I thought I didn’t have much to say.

23 09 2007

Today I have spent the majority of the day inside, resting, sleeping, or reading. While I’m still working my way through The Nazi Officer’s Wife, I picked up the Portuguese version of The Little Prince to test my reading comprehension. A number of months ago, I bought the Portuguese version of Marley and Me, the book about the golden retriever, but soon realized where the book was heading and while I didn’t know for sure, I could assume it was very likely toward something very sad. And while I can read about the sad things that happen to people, i.e: the Holocaust, it is entirely something different to read about sad things happening to animals, so I abandoned that book after a mere ten pages and it now stands like a liar among all the other books I’ve finished here. The Little Prince is a shorter and much less heart-wrenchingly sad story, so I figure it is a good book to try out in another language. I’m proud of myself for getting 20 pages in just today, and while that’s not an entirely bold number, it’ll be my first book in Portuguese, so that’s that.

The weather this day: getting much warmer. I went out twice today to the padaria and to the drug store. I felt the sun on my back and knew that while it was indeed very warm, the temperature is nothing compared to what’s about to come. My mom said today on the phone, “So it’s like springtime for you now, right? It’ll get warmer?” And I almost guffawed because “warmer” is the understatement of the year. I remember breaking my foot last year in early November and thinking it was unbearably hot, having absolutely no idea how really hot it gets here in January through March. Right now is nothing.

It’s almost October. Where did all this time go? I’ve been back for almost two months already? How’s that even possible? This means that in just about one more month, Dennis will be here, and our weekend travels will commence. October, too, before he arrives, is filled with travels–to Rio, to Pouso da Cajaiba (another island adventure, this time with my friend Mandy.) I’m really looking forward to Dennis getting here because then we’ll travel back to the States together in December for the holidays. While I’m excited to be here in the summer, I think I’m even more excited to be back in some snow. I’m looking forward to going snowboarding again and cuddling up in piles and piles of blankets and going snowshoeing. That is, if there’s snow while I’m up there.

Musicians on the playlist for today:

  • Deb Talan
  • Rosie Thomas
  • Glen Hansard

Activities on the To Do list:

  • laundry
  • return DVD that’s already 4 days late 
  • dishes
  • correcting quizzes

So looks like I’ve got some work to do, having finished the first three items hours ago.The light in my apartment is fading now, and it’s only 5:47. I should get on these quizzes before it gets too dark to do much of anything except go to sleep.

Boa noite.


Actions

Information

2 responses

24 09 2007
Jennie

It really doesn’t seem like it could already be two months that you’ve been back there.

24 09 2007
ginacoggio

I know! Soon Dennis will be here and time will fly by and I’ll have been back for five months? What’s up with time recently? Am I the only one who sees it rushing by?

Leave a Reply

