Welcome the rain.

28 09 2007

This morning when I woke up, I smelled dirt. I didn’t actually pick it up and sniff it, not like that. I woke up, lookd out the window and the smell of dirt wafted up into my apartment. All morning, we teachers commented about how strong the smell was, wondering if it had rained the night before (which it hadn’t) and were practically overcome by how powerful the smell was. We should have known it would mean rain.

In one of my afternoon classes, during a lull in conversation, we all heard a faint rolling of thunder in the distance. The kids looked around and cheered, calling, “Yay! Rain! Can we go stand in it? If it rains, can we all go play in it?” It hasn’t rained–a hard, powerful rain with thunder and lightning like this, in something like 67 days. It’s rained a bit here and there, but nothing like one of these afternoon hot weather day rains. My classroom is shaking with thunder–I can feel the energy.

Today is also the first day of spring. The cantina was decorated with lights and balloons and we got to have icecream for dessert. And so begins the rainy months, whereby every three days or so there is a downpour just as school lets out and I need to bring an umbrella with me everywhere I go. (Which reminds me, I need to find my umbrella.) The weather today is conducive to throwing on pajamas, piling myself into my bed, putting on a chick flick, and eating Hershey Kisses. This is what I call a perfect evening to a busy week.

This weekend is another trip to São Paulo Starbucks. We are going to leave late morning and go to Shopping Morumbi and sit there all day sipping our wonderful coffee beverages. Maybe we’ll take in a show, do some shopping, eat some good food. Whatever the case, I can’t wait. It’s going to be fabulous.


Actions

Information

7 responses

28 09 2007
luana

Dear Ms. C

When you spoke about the rain it looked like the story we read about mars and the girl. By the amount of Hershey´s you already ate, at monday there wont be anything left. I hope you enjoy your trip to starbucks.

28 09 2007
ginacoggio

Wow! You’re right about the rain and the story! Good thing it started raining, huh? We really needed it! Have a great weekend!

28 09 2007
chrisgg

Um.. I am kind of different. I had P.E. class when it was raining, so I needed to go down with covering my Science, history, binder and everything with my jacket so they don’t get wet. Also, after the class, I needed to come up to the locker with rain. I was totally wet. BUT I loved that it was raining, because I believed that it will sweep the hot and disgusting weather away. YAY YAY

29 09 2007
ginacoggio

Oh, I agree completely with sweeping the hot weather away. And I also don’t like getting caught out in the rain, but it happens to all of us, right?

29 09 2007
luana

Dear Ms. C

If you dont like rain you wont belive this, yesterday I had soccer practice in the rain and I went home all muddy and wet. But I loved playing in the rain. One of the things i love about playing in the rain is that you can give ´´carinhos“ a carinho is when you slip on the grass to get the ball( or sometimes the person that has the ball) anyway it is really cool!

29 09 2007
chrisgg

Yeap! It is a part of life. Isn’t it?? HAHA

29 09 2007
Holly

Please think of me when you have your luscious coffee beverage. It’s been *sob* seven months since my last grande nonfat latte.

Leave a Reply

