Regular people around the world: I love you AND your writing.

29 09 2007

I love blogs. I love them because regular people have them. And regular people are, simply put, amazing. I read the NY Times everyday and sometimes check in with the Boston Globe. However, the most joy I have during the course of a day is when I sit down and read other people’s blogs. Today, Saturday, for instance, has been one of the most pleasurable days on the web I’ve had in a long time. I woke up early this morning, having slept most of the afternoon and evening away yesterday because of the rain and how exhausted I was all week. I made myself a cup of coffee and sat quite happily down to check in on all the blogs on my blogroll. All of them. Not many people updated, but a few did, and I left comments on quite a few blogs and found some other good ones by checking out links.

This one, for instance, is a great blog. It’s written by a guy (Dave) who is undergoing radiation and chemotherapy for nasopharyngeal cancer that he was diagnosed with this past summer. I was led to his blog by reading Poop and Boogies, one of the funniest blogs I’ve read in a while. There’s another blog like this, that I learned about from my friend Nate’s blog (tellhimfred.com) called the Bright Side Blog, and written by a woman named Ruth Peterson who lives in the Boston area and is part of the band Ruth.

I read about the monks in Myanmar from San Francisco-based Holly on one of my favorite blogs, Nothing But Bonfires, and was deeply saddened by the soon-to-be demise of a recent favorite indiebloggers.org where some of my essays were published this month. I checked in with Utah Dooce and Whoorl for updates on their parenting adventures and on hairstyles, and saw a video about carion beetles on my friend Rich’s science blog, Omniscopic. Catherine, recently relocated to Alaska, has put a challenge out there for her readers, a challenge that will make us kinder and more thoughtful people, and Sangroncito is lamenting some of the troubles of living in the tropical paradise otherwise known as Bahia, Brazil.

Check out some of these sites today and see what you think. There are some really good writers and really amazing lives out there. While I can find out about the world from the NY Times and the Globe, it’s so much more interesting to read about the people in the world, don’t you agree?


Actions

Information

12 responses

29 09 2007
catherinelwalker

Absolutely! I must admit, Gina, that YOUR blog was the first one I stumbled upon and began reading. From there I was hooked and consequently decided to start my own. As a stay-at-home Mom, reading blogs has been a great way for me to get my worldly “news.” This “news” comes in all forms: comical, inspiring, adventurous, serious, down-to-earth, eye-opening, local, national, international, happy, sad, depressing, challenging, ironic, simplistic, complex, etc. I don’t think there is a professional “news” source that can bring you all that! It’s really great to be able to see life from so many different perspectives. Thank you, fellow bloggers!

29 09 2007
luana

Dear Ms.C

I really also like reading people´s blog, especially yours.Its really nice to hear about the day and the adventures of normal people. Even though they are not famouse or anything they can have really great things to say. The things they say may not have anything to do with you but it can make you think different and expand your knowledge about different things. Your blog is really good, it is nice to know about your teachers day!!!!!!=)

30 09 2007
Nilsa S.

Sniff sniff. Maybe, sniff, one day I’ll become famous enough, sniff, to be on your blogroll, too. Sniff. Until then, I’ll keep forging ahead.🙂

30 09 2007
ginacoggio

Oh, you’re right….It’s time to do a pretty heavy blogroll overhaul….
Will do it right now.

1 10 2007
Nilsa S.

I didn’t mean to guilt you into changing your blogroll on my behalf. I swear the stick I carry is really small. Not threatening in the least.🙂 Alright, now that it’s done, I’ll admit I’m tickled. THANK YOU! PS – I LOVE THREADLESS T-SHIRTS! They just opened an actual store here in Chicago, so now you know where you should visit if/when you ever come to town!!!

1 10 2007
ginacoggio

Let me tell you something about Threadless.
I love them and I want to marry them and, I’m sure you won’t be surprised when I say I want to make little t-shirt babies with them.
HOWEVER, I ordered a great t-shirt on JULY 29TH. JULY 29TH! Officially TWO FULL ENTIRE LONG MONTHS AGO and it is STILL not here.

Seriously. How can I marry Threadless if it can’t deliver?

1 10 2007
Nate

Hey there! Thanks so much for the plug.
It seems like it was yesterday when you were just starting this little blog experiment, and now, well, look at you now!

1 10 2007
ginacoggio

My pleasure! Seriously.

2 10 2007
sangroncito

thanks for adding me to your list!

2 10 2007
ginacoggio

You’re welcome! Thank you for writing about life in Brazil! (It’s nice to have another voice on the subject!)

3 10 2007
CTK

Don’t know if you saw this one, it’s not a blog but the video is just plain inspiring,

CTK

Randy Pausch, a 46-year-old Carnegie Mellon computer science professor who has cancer, gave an inspiring lecture that received a lot of attention on the Internet.
http://www.abcnews.go.com/GMA/TenWays/story?id=3675954&page=1

3 10 2007
ginacoggio

Oh, CTK–THANK YOU so much for sending this! I LOVE it!!!

Leave a Reply

