Mom, you want grandchildren?

1 10 2007

Hey, so, Mom? You know how you’re all interested in one day having grandkids? And how you remodeled the house a little bit so you could clear up some space for said children? And how, like, you get all teary eyed when you see little kids and think of me being a mom?

And remember how I’m not really into that kind of thing? (You know, giving birth and carrying around the weight of a child–both figurative and literal–for the rest of my life.)

Well, I’ve found a good solution. You can read what I’m talking about here. Brazil’s really influenced my life (and maybe yours, too) a great deal!


Actions

Information

16 responses

1 10 2007
Tina (aka Mom)

Great !! a 2-for-one deal !! You just set it up and I’ll deliver – (ha ha)….

1 10 2007
Nilsa S.

That’s just a little bit gross! My parents have been very hands-off when it comes to marriage, grandchildren and my life in general. Until a few years ago when my father, point blank, asked me when I’m going to give them some grandkids. I freaked a bit and returned the question with the following: “I was going to get married first and then have kids. But, if you want grandchildren that badly, I can certainly get started trying!” It shut my father up immediately. And I haven’t heard a peep on the subject from him since.

1 10 2007
ginacoggio

You’re gross, mom. Read Nilsa’s comment and, like her dad, never ask me about grandchildren again.

1 10 2007
Tina (aka Mom)

Oh come ONNNNNN…. the ha ha meant I was KIDDING!!!!!!!!!!!

1 10 2007
ginacoggio

You may have been kidding, but I wasn’t. No grandchild talk. Ever.
And no passive aggressive grandchild talk either, ok? No “Oh, look at that grandmother. She looks so happy with her grandkids!”

1 10 2007
Susan

I hate when my mother ask me that same question. Its almost rude how many people ask me when I plan on having children because they will fulfill the rest of my life…pfft to that. My hubby and I love being a family without kids for now because HELLO we’ve only been married 1 year. Its super annoying to be asked about kids.

1 10 2007
ginacoggio

Yes, 1 year into a marriage seems so soon! It’s like you’ve just gotten used to being with each other and then suddenly this whole new life pops into the picture and NEVER GOES AWAY.

1 10 2007
Sofy

But you’ll still have to pay for all the kid’s toys and clothes and education and stuff, and take care of him/her all the time. Which seems very not-fun. I mean, you solved the giving birth part, but the forever is still there, and that’s much longer.
I would just forget about it if I were you. Kids are evil. I speak from experience. They whine a lot and need too much money (money that you could keep to yourself, which is just so much nicer!).

-Sofy

1 10 2007
ginacoggio

This, coming from a 12 year old.

1 10 2007
Sofy

So what? You know me. I’m an unusual 12 year old.

1 10 2007
ginacoggio

You’re right. I cannot challenge that statement.

1 10 2007
Jake

Kids are great! Give you a reason to smile and to make the world a better place. True I have a good kid – maybe I would change my mind if he wasn’t. But I dont suggest you have them cause you are bored – that didn’t work out as planned. =)

2 10 2007
Catherine

I, too, was subject to endless questioning of when I was going to have kids…even before I was married (much like you!). But, alas, after five years of marriage (FIVE years? sheesh!), I now have a little one who is the most amazing person in the world. BUT…you definitely shouldn’t have kids until YOU are 100% ready. It’s not fair to YOU or the child. There’s already an overflow of people who have children without being 100% ready…just go to your local Walmart at about 10PM and you’ll know what I mean (I know that was pretty harsh…but, you have to admit…it IS pretty true)!

8 08 2010
Sam

I wish my mom wanted grandchildren. Shes so used to me being a little girl. She hates the idea of me having a baby. ):<

3 05 2011
Norma

No one is ever ready to have a child– but every one – ready or not – wants adventure, to go see the world and have great experiences. Having a child is the ultimat4e experience, you participate in CREATING NEW LIFE… WOW. That is why you were born and the cycle of life must continue. Work and trouble there will be, but that exists in all relationships that makes life fun! Be prepared, get ready, but until you get into the water you cannot learn to swim…

17 09 2011
Ehartsay

” Be prepared, get ready, but until you get into the water you cannot learn to swim…”

maybe, but that isn’t a lake you can just run out of again, if you Jump in and then realise it isn’t for you lol🙂

Leave a Reply

