The storm before the calm.

2 10 2007

Today was a busy day, but it’s about to get much, much better. First let me say that I love my students. Then, let me say they are about to GO AWAY for THREE SOLID DAYS. They’re going on a long field trip. I’m staying here at school. This means that I will have NO students for THREE SOLID DAYS.

Do we understand what this means, people? It means pure, unadulterated last.fm listening. It means I can leave school at any moment to go to the padaria for coffee or snacks. It means I can sit in the silence and peace of my classroom and not once be interrupted with questions. It will be, quite literally, heaven on Earth. I don’t have to do anything structured for the next three days except wake up and come to school. This is not to say I won’t do anything; there’s plenty to do here for preparing upcoming units. But whatever. Do we understand how happy the next three days are going to make me?!  I imagine this might be how parents feel when they get to leave the kids at grandma’s.

But again, let me reiterate, I love my students.

Actions

Information

15 responses

2 10 2007
Jennie

Three whole DAYS? Paradise.

2 10 2007
Marissa

Yes, you hit the nail on the head with your last comment. While I love my children beyond the confines of my heart, I am NEVER more giddy than when I am leaving them with Grandma and getting some alone time. God Bless Grandmas and God Bless Field Trips.
Amen.

2 10 2007
ginacoggio

Yes. God Bless Grandmas.
(And mother, I promise you, if EVER there is a time when I will spill forth children from my womb, who will henceforth be known as your grandchildren, I will bless you, too.)

2 10 2007
Sofy

Alvy and Sofy:

Hey Baby C! (Or Ms.Coggio, as Sofy, who is typing this, would say) (When did you get that nickname anyway?) So. We’re in Angra dos Reis! We have internet! We (Sofy) paid fifteen Reais for it, though. It’s really pretty here, and we (Alvy) smelled cow crap (Sofy didn’t want to put “crap,” but Alvy said to put crap). And Cass said it smelled fresh.
Okay. We don’t have anything else to say. We didn’t get to watch any good movies in the bus, only The Grudge 2. And Sofy’s iPod has no battery, so she’s slowly dying.

Thais sends you kisses.
We love you and miss you!!!
And Cary is ignoring us, and I (Sofy) was gonna ask her if she wanted to say something to you and she didn’t answer. So she obviously doesn’t care about you. Or maybe she’s too distracted because she’s gonna see the goats.
Renato said that he wanted to say something to you but then he just waved at the computer.
Bye now, because I only have 36 minutes of internet left.

-Sofy and Alvy

2 10 2007
Susan

Yay…for field trips!

3 10 2007
ginacoggio

Hi guys!!! I was wondering how your trip was going! It’s a great surprise to hear from you!

Have fun with the cows and the goats. Can’t wait to hear why you’re around farm animals.

3 10 2007
Sofy

The cows were in the restaurant we stopped in when we were coming (is that 1 M or 2 M’s? I forgot) here. And there were goats in the mountain next to it. And Cary felt immediately attracted to them, because she’s a weirdo. (But we love her anyway)
Alvy says to watch Brazil’s Next Top Model today at nine on Sony but I don’t think you can because do you have cable? You said you would get cable, but I have a feeling that you didn’t.
I bought new flip-flops. They’re pink. And they match my sweater.
We love you.
Beware of the hookman.
We saw a hooker! One of her heels was broken and she was all limpy down the street. And she was wearing this neon pink dress. That was very fun.
I have 8 minutes left of internet and I still gotta read the comment you’re gonna send us back, because you better comment back.
We love you.
Beware of the Grudge lady.
Beware of the huge Charles Chaplin poster in the kitchen in this hotel holding a big fork.
Beware of The Shining.
Beware of IT.
Byebye. Love you. We wish you were here with us, but you seem to be enjoying your student-free days, so we’re (Sofy is) happy for you. (Alvy ain’t, cause he’s selfish.)
The computer just beeped and I have five minutes.
Bye.

3 10 2007
Sofy

That was Alvy, too.

3 10 2007
ginacoggio

Hi!
I love you too!
See you Monday!

3 10 2007
Sofy

It’s only Sofy now, because I think Alvy’s mad at Cass and I because I told him he wasn’t being useful.
But here:

Coggio, our comment was like one whole entire page, and you answer “Hi! I love you too! See you Monday!”? I was so looking forward to your response!

You’re a writer! And a great one! Come up with something better than that! Say something about the hooker, or the cable TV, or anything from the whole NOVEL we wrote about our trip so far. Tell us what you’re doing. Anything. But I’m bored and my iPod has no battery, like I said before, and dinner is only in 59 minutes. So I need you.
Was that mean? Cause if it was, sorry. I don’t mean I didn’t like your response.

Well, I sorta do, but you don’t have to know that.
Bye.

-Sofy

3 10 2007
ginacoggio

Listen, Miss Sofy. I wrote that comment short and sweet because YOU said in your other comment that you only had 5 minutes left, and I can’t craft a beautiful comment in less than 5 minutes because I wasn’t sure when you’d posted it exactly and wanted to make sure that in your last five minutes of Internet you’d have SOMETHING to read from me! Let me not forget the pressure you put me under to post something quick because, and I quote, “I still gotta read the comment you’re gonna send us back, because you better comment back.”

I tried!

3 10 2007
Sofy

First of all, DON’T call me “Miss Sofy.” It makes you sound mommy-ish.
Well, THANK YOU for trying. And THANK YOU for being so considerate about my five minutes left.
I paid again. I have twelve minutes. And in these twelve minutes, I want to hear from you because you’re nice.

-Sofy

3 10 2007
Sofy

But I’m gonna sleep now because my tummy hurts. So I won’t check back today. And I don’t think tomorrow I will either, because we’re going to Paraty and I dunno if they have internet in that hotel. So I’ll talk to you on Monday.

3 10 2007
ginacoggio

Seriously, are you spending all your money on Internet??
(Eh, I’d probably do the same thing if I were on a field trip and it was nighttime.)
I hope you feel better!

4 10 2007
Sofy

Yes. It’s not like I have anything else to spend it on. And internet is important.
So in about, like, two or three hours we’re going to Paraty, and they probably won’t have internet there.
I do feel better, thanks.

-Sofy

Leave a Reply

