What’s up with that giant orange button, Gina?

3 10 2007

Funny you asked. I was just going to tell you.

First of all, let’s define the terms.

“To lurk”: v. to creep around unnoticed. As in: “The blog reader lurked around various blogs, enjoying what he was reading, without ever leaving a comment for the writer.” (Kind of like a Wham Bam Thank You Ma’am in the blogosphere.)

“Mofo”: adj. slang. motherfucking. As in: “I write all the mofo time and no one leaves any mofo comments.”

“de-“: prefix. showing separation from, an undoing of something. As in: “I detached myself from my computer long enough to cry and sob because there were no comments on the piece I’d just written.”

Now let’s put the terms together.

Mofo Delurk. command. the stopping of the Wham Bam Thank You Ma’am. As in: “Let’s get the groove on with the leaving of the comments for the writers of the blogs.”

For more information, you can click on the giant orange button. And then afterwards, you can click on any of the fabulous blogs on this blogroll or on any other blogroll on the planet and share some comment love.

(Despite the tone of this post, I’m not bossy. She is.)


Actions

Information

11 responses

3 10 2007
BOSSY

No one could accuse Bossy of being a lurker. But gah does her husband ever wish – silence for a minute or two.

3 10 2007
Holly

You know, I think a lot of people may feel shy about leaving comments, because blogs often seem so personal. I mean, you’re poking around on the internet, you stumble upon someone’s blog, and you kind of feel like you’ve just read their diary without being invited. Obviously, this is not the case because if it were meant to be private, it would not be on the internet. But it can still feel that way. And when you read other readers’ comments, it often seems like they were left by people who have some sort of relationship with the writer. Or else the comments are all so damn witty that the idea of adding your own comment can be intimidating.
So, in defense of lurkers everywhere, I guess my point is just that failing to leave a comment is sometimes not so much “wham bam thank you Ma’am” as it is admiring the ma’am from afar but feeling too shy to ask her out.

3 10 2007
ginacoggio

Oh, you’re totally right. But as a blogger myself (and as a student, and as a teacher), I know how much it means to get feedback.

But if I may use your dating metaphor for a moment and a movie to boot, remember the scene in “When Harry Met Sally” at the end when he just comes right out and says what he wanted to say which was, “When you’ve found the person you want to spend the rest of your life with, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.” Imagine if he’d never said that? The movie would end with just another one night stand. BUT…because there was no more admiring from afar, and because Harry said what he was feeling, LOOK! They kissed on New Years Eve! They got married! They had the carrot cake with the frosting–on the side! (I know this film very, very well. And please don’t judge.)

The point is, I guess, blogs are out there for a reason and it’s because I think some people feel comfortable opening up to the anonymous millions–sharing things about their lives through the written word. It can be a conversation, like this one right now, but only if people use their “voices.” Don’t you think? True, I definitely do not comment on every blog I read because sometimes there’s just nothing to say. But I do really try to support the blogs I love.

Ask out the ma’am! Ask out the ma’am! Don’t be shy! Take a shot of tequila and ask her out!

Nilsa was saying on her blog that she reads blogs and really thinks about the people who write them, learning about these people and seeing who they are. I couldn’t agree more. While I love the idea of observing people through their writing, it is so much fun to actually interact with them, and with the countless others who read their words.

3 10 2007
ginacoggio

Bossy! ah mah gah! i love you!

3 10 2007
Holly

I totally agree, and, as you know, leave the occasional comment myself. But because I am feeling particularly charitable today, I just wanted to put forth the possibility that not all lurkers are selfish cyber-douchebags out to use and abuse the earnest blogging ma’ams of the world. Although of course I’m sure many of them are. 😉

3 10 2007
Erin

I don’t know that you’d remember me, but I found your blog through my brother’s and I really enjoy reading your stuff- I love when a writer shows both their intelligence and sense of humor (especially when it’s a self-deprecating one!) and you totally show those qualities. Thanks.

3 10 2007
ginacoggio

Holly, thanks….because you’ve just covered my ass for all the times I’ve been a lurker!

(and)

Erin! I absolutely remember you! It’s great to see you!/read you (?) I see updates of your daughter occasionally on Nate’s blog! She’s gorgeous! Nate adores her.

3 10 2007
Ryan

I have to say that you have passed your final test in your quest to become a blogdork. Go forth and blog with confidence.

Love,
RD

4 10 2007
ginacoggio

AT LEAST I WRITE, RYAN. AT LEAST I WRITE.
(no hint there, or anything, about how little YOU write on YOUR blog, GREEN MOUNTAIN DAD.)

4 10 2007
ginacoggio

(See what I did? I went forth and commented with confidence.) Blogdorks unite!

4 10 2007
Nilsa S.

It’s really a true pleasure to read your blog. I love hearing about foreign lands through an American’s eyes. Living in a foreign country both thrills and scares the crap out of me. Wish I had the guts like you to take that leap of faith. You will most definitely carry your experiences forever. So, for now, I am indebted to you for bringing some of those experiences back to the mainland! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

