Mugs.

6 10 2007

Coffee’s been a big part of my life here in Brazil, especially Starbucks coffee. For those of you just tuning in, there is one Starbucks in the whole country and it is located in Shopping Morumbi, in Sao Paulo, about an hour and a half–upwards of two hours of traveling time from my home in Campinas. Over the past few months, my friend Mandy and I have made several trips to Sao Paulo with Starbucks in mind. It may seem like a ridiculous adventure to some of you, but I have absolutely no shame in spending hours in traveling and up to R$70 in bus, metro, and taxi fares just to have a medium coffee drink with a little whipped cream.

To keep me tied over on the days when I can’t get to Sao Paulo, I have a good supply of Starbucks ground coffee here in my refrigerator that The Buddha and my friend Jake brought down on their trips. And on my two last trips to SP, I bought giant Starbucks mugs. One says “Brasil,” and the other says “Sao Paulo” with a terrible picture of the SP Art Museum on it (MASP.) Both also say “Starbucks,” and make me proud with every sip of the fact that I own them. This morning, while filling up my Brasil Starbucks mug, it occurred to me just how large the mug actually is. First, you should know, Brazilians do not drink large cups of coffee. That is another reason why I love going to Starbucks because it takes twenty minutes to drink a cup of coffee and it’s relaxing. It’s not the little shot of high test espresso that you drink standing up like they have all over the place here. (The coffee is good, but Jesus, is it strong.)

succession of mugs

Above is a photo that I took this morning, showing, from left to right, the mugs I have gone through while here. I began with six small mugs (cups, if you will) on the left. Searching high and low for something larger about a week after I arrived, I found the next one. It says “esperanca” on it, which means “hope” in Portuguese. Third is a mug that my friends Jason and Geneva sent me, with the label of a Utah beer called “Polygamy Porter” on it. It was the largest mug I’d seen in the world, until I came upon the Starbucks mugs. Although this last one looks shorter, it is in fact, the size of my own head, and when filled with Starbucks coffee, I am awake for three days straight.

In the distance, you can see a tall grey and white building. It, along with another building that has an Itau Bank digital clock on its top, are the two buildings that let me know I’m home in this city. They work kind of like the Prudential Building did for me when I lived in Boston: I had only to look at the skyline to know where I was in the city.


Actions

Information

22 responses

6 10 2007
Sofy

Wow, really? R$70 for Starbucks? How often do you go there?

And my dad works in that big white and grey building.

-Sofy

6 10 2007
ginacoggio

Well, yeah…round trip bus tickets, metro to the closest station to Shopping Morumbi, taxi if we don’t want to take the train or bus which could eat up the entire day and then we wouldn’t have the chance to drink any coffee.
And we have gone twice in the past two months. Well, three times, but that third time wasn’t for Starbucks.

(Your dad works there? This whole time I thought it was an apartment building!)

6 10 2007
Sofy

Huh. You’re crazy.
But you know that, probably.

Nah, it’s an office building. Unless we’re talking about a different building. Well, I don’t know if people live there (if they do, though, they’re lucky, because the first floor is this tiny little mall that has great chocolate and cute clothes).

6 10 2007
ginacoggio

Really? Great chocolate? I live that close?

6 10 2007
luanaspider

Ms. C how many mugs of coffee do you really drink per day???? and then im the crazy one!!!

6 10 2007
Sofy

Yep. Great, expensive chocolate.

6 10 2007
bella94

yeah Ms.C, WE’RE the crazy ones, sure. A person who drinks starbucks cofee in a mug the siz of their head isn’t crazy. but then again, NOTHING you do is done normally. hehehehehehehhehehehe

6 10 2007
Sofy

Oh man, I completely forgot. Chich, Lorraine, Alvy and I have a surprise for you on Monday. Well, actually we have three surprises, but I’m thinking of one specifically that you’re gonna really like. I can’t wait to give it to you.

-Sofy

6 10 2007
Davis

I’m here in Vermont working and just pull up your blog and start reading about Coffee, which of course made me run and make a pot of Green Mountain Coffee (Dark Magic) if you must know. But thank you for make me laugh out loud and think that my employees think I’m CRAZY! I think I scared a person two cubes over. P.S.: We now have 4 Starbucks in the Burlington Area. AMAZING. P.S.: They tore down the McDonalds on Williston Rd, but they are going to rebuild it. It is quite distressing. Really!!

6 10 2007
marissa

Hmmm…I know this is toptally unrelated but I had a class at SCSU with a girl named Geneva. Seems like an unusual name and I wonder if your friend went to SCSU a few years ago??

7 10 2007
Nilsa S.

Your post makes me laugh at the lengths you’ll go through to drink “your” favorite coffee. Makes me sad I’m not passionate about coffee (I don’t drink the stuff), but then again, I cannot imagine what withdrawal would be like.

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

Withdrawl is a symptom of addiction, right? But I don’t think I’m an addict, really. More of an aficionado. Or a lover of fine flavors. Or having a lot of free time on my hands. Or in search of tastes that remind me of home.

Or completely in denial that I might just be an addict.

7 10 2007
Sandra

I think I should share some good news with you: there are actually two more Starbucks in SP besides the one in Morumbi. Both in really nice malls so next friday you have more options. One of the malls even has an ice-rink.

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

WHERE?!?!
OH MY GOD WHERE????
PLEASE WHERE????????????

7 10 2007
Sandra

haha! I can’t remember the names right now but Ill ask my friend who took me there and let you know.

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

Okay. But please, please don’t forget. It would be cruel to say there are more Starbucks but never let me know where they are.

7 10 2007
Sandra

ok I got the e-mail later so now you have two times the same message haha. One thing I noticed though.. the name that appears on the e-mail message is: gina coggio. Weren’t you the capitalizing English teacher?

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

Well, Sandra, I’ll put it to you this way: once you’ve lived as long as I have, you get to have a thing called poetic license. Like the poet e.e.cummings, I am “gina coggio.” I can break whatever rule I want, including those of the rules of the English language, because I’m pretty much the queen of everything.

10 10 2007
Sofy

I love it that you’re so modest, Ms. Coggio.

And I thought there was a Starbucks in that Shopping Eldorado (?Is that the name?).

-Sofy

15 10 2007
ginacoggio

I’m surprised it took you this long to say that.
🙂

3 06 2008
ladybughugs

I [heart] big mugs. and Starbucks mugs.

It’s funny, I, too, know where I am in a city by its distinguishing features (like skyscrapers). I take it for granted, but some people don’t have that ‘sense’ (if that’s the word for it).

11 02 2009
anne

hey everybody…

on the starbucks homepage are all the shops listed… just have a look if you really want to try something new… and its more than 3…
the one in morumbi saved my last sunday… nice to have the same everywhere in the world… makes you feel at home a little…

Leave a Reply

