An actual conversation.

7 10 2007

Last night, I met up with my friends quite randomly at a tiny tiny club called Barril da Mafia to hear some good music, have some drinks (water, actually) and dance a little bit. It was a fabulous night because there were seven of my friends there–a large group for once–and the music was excellent. While my friends and I were just there to dance and have a good time, it had escaped my mind that perhaps some other people had ulterior motives, including one fellow who looked eerily like John Belushi:

JB Look-alike: Hey!

Me: (ignoring)

JB Look-alike: Hey!

Me: (still ignoring)

JB Look-alike: Hey!

Me: (turning around) Hi.

JB Look-alike: Can I get your phone number?

Me: (snorting) No.

JB Look-alike: Why not?

Me: Because I don’t know you and I have a boyfriend.

JB Look-alike: No, no, no. Not for that. Just to hang out some time.

Me: Uh, right. Still no.

JB Look-alike: Come on.

Me: Dude. No.

JB Look-alike: But why not?

Me: Uh, boyfriend? I have one?

JB Look-alike: Ahh, but where is he?

Me: In the US.

JB Look-alike: Well then! He’s far away!

Me: I know.

JB Look-alike: So….?

Me: So…..?

JB Look-alike: Can I get your phone number?

Seriously, people.


Actions

Information

19 responses

7 10 2007
Sofy

Eew. I just saw that Belushi guy on Google. He’s not very handsome. Why would someone that looked like him try to get your number? Or, well, anybody’s number?

Okay, the first picture on Google is a gravestone that says “John Belushi,” so he is probably dead and I’m probably rude and disrespectful. So, um…RIP, buddy.

And I saw you last night at the pizza place! And Mr. Beese.
(Hands sweat cold with terrible embarrasment at hearing his name. Has to stop typing, go lie down, and wish for own death.)

-Sofy

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

You don’t have to die just because you typed “the hot teacher’s” name. I wouldn’t want you joining the ranks of our late friend Mr. Belushi.

7 10 2007
Sofy

The rational part of my brain doesn’t think I have to die either. But that’s the part that loses most of the time.

And I don’t need to die because of typing his name. I need to die because typing his name brings back terrible memories that involve telling my friends what the bases are while the hot teacher is standing right behind me.

-Sofy

7 10 2007
cassiee

Sofy’s not embaressed becuase of that.. It’s because of the whole 3rd base thing.( i wont go in to details cause she will kill me!)
And what was that dude thinking.. DESPERATE or what?
Not saying that your not pretty or anything beause you are.. But it sounds as though he is really desperate to get your number.
Bless Him.

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

Yes, he told us that story last night and we all had a good laugh. Not at anyone’s expense, mind you, but because I think we’ve all been there before. And we didn’t die, so you’ll be just fine, too. Think of it as something you’ll never forget! It’s great to have that kind of memory! (You’ll always have something to laugh at.)

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

Yes, “bless him” was the first thing I thought, too. Bless him and then get the hell away.

7 10 2007
Sofy

Evil. Just pure evil. To laugh at a twelve year old’s misfortune like that? You people are all going to a place that isn’t heaven.
And “it’s great to have that kind of memory?!” What are you, insane? Tell me, Ms.Coggio. Tell me about a time when YOU were talking about sex with your friends and the hot teacher was standing behing you. Show me how “great” it is!
I have plenty of non-embarassing things to laugh at in the future. Like how badly I hurt my seventh grade English teacher on October 8th, 2007, for letting “the hot teacher” tell that story to whoever you were with last night.

I’m kidding. Mostly.

-Sofy

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

Honestly, Sofy, you’ve quite shut me up with that last comment. I’m not sure where to go from there, except, as your English teacher, to say that it should be “whomever,” not “whoever.”
You are seriously one clever girl.

7 10 2007
Nilsa S.

Do you edit these bar conversations based on the fact your students might read your words? Has their discovery of your blog changed your blogging world? Just curious…

7 10 2007
Sofy

I know it.
Well, except for the whomever whoever things. But come on, those are confusing.
And you’re not my English teacher, Ms. Coggio. Not anymore, anyway.

-Sofy

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

Actually, Nilsa, my students have really helped shape my blogging choices. I know sometimes the language I use can be a bit rough, but I don’t think it’s anything overwhelming. I basically live by the rule that says, if I could say it in front of my students, I can say it here.
When I first started this blog it was a way for me to capture my life here and share it with friends and family at home. I never came out and told my kids, and in fact, Sofy was the student who came upon it first after about a month of school and told me she’d found it. As long as I keep that focus in mind, I feel fine about my kids reading what I’m writing.

There’s a lot of things I might write if I weren’t a teacher. But I’m glad for the self-editing I have to do in order to make it possible for me to look at myself in the morning and not think I’ve written something offensive or made a fool out of myself for writing something I’d be embarrassed about down the line. Knowing my students read this helps me turn my criticism inwards rather than directing it at other people, helps me find the humor in myself and in situations rather than in other people.
Luckily I have a close relationship with my kids so any concerns they have, they feel comfortable enough to talk to me face to face about it.

I don’t know. Sofy, Alvy, and all my other kids who are regular commentors: How do you feel about knowing about this blog? Do you think it’s changed anything?

7 10 2007
Sofy

Of course I think it’s changed things. I mean, you sort of “inspired” some of us to create our own blogs, so now we know each other a lot better than we would normally. And it’s nice to know what you’re like outside of school, because school is so boring and everyone (ahem, “everyone” meaning “Sofy”) hates it.
It’s also a way to keep in touch this year (since we see you a lot less) and the years after you leave, when we basically won’t be seeing you at all.

Oh and plus, you’re funny here and you swear sometimes. And a kid’s gotta be pretty lucky to have a teacher with both those qualities.

-Sofy

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

(Shhhh about the swearing!)
But thank you. You are very lucky, I assure you.

7 10 2007
luanaspider

Sofy your right about the inspiring thing, I created my own blog beacause of you ms. c. I think it is really nice to talk to your teacher about something that isent really school. We are all VERRY lucky to have you as a teacher. You have great qualities.I think if you dont know your teacher it is like seeing them everyday and you never really talked to her.
Ms. C you are really awesome. Im really really really glad for having you as a teacher!!!

7 10 2007
marissa

I actually had a sleezball guy approach me at a bar ( I was wearing my wedding ring, as ALWAYS) and the following transpired:
Sleezeball guy: “hey”
Me: ignore
SG:” You look good.”
Me: “I am married”
SG: “How married are you?”
Me: “Are.You.Kidding???”
SG: “Well, I am married. But I still look at the menu, you know what I’m saying?”
Me: “No. Bye.”
Ugh.

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

Actually, Marissa, I might know who you’re talking about. Was that in New Haven? Gross is right.

7 10 2007
ginacoggio

Luanaspider– 🙂

15 10 2007
Harold

Hi, Gina. I’ve heard of women, when pestered by a guy for their phone number, giving a fax number.

15 10 2007
ginacoggio

Or making up digits entirely off the top of their heads….not that I’ve ever done that before.

Leave a Reply

