Bags and Kids.

8 10 2007

Today I was bombarded by a million little kids. Actually, just five, and they’re not that little. I’m the shortest of them all. They presented me with some goodies from the trip they went on last week to Paraty, each gift wrapped in assorted colorful bags. I was dumbfounded that they thought of me, their teacher, while they were living it up altogether among the islands and the sun and the cobble stone streets of the Centro Historico of the little town, so when they not only showed up at my door, together like a pack of hyperactive monkeys, they took me by surprise when they handed me over the sack of treasures.

Inside were the following:

  • a mug that says “PARA UMA SUPER PROFESSORA Paraty–RJ–Brasil”
  • a fake earring in the shape of a sword that looks like it’s stabbing me through my ear
  • a bag of pacoquinha
  • an orange witch

Let me explain about the witch. I’d like to think they gave me that because they like me, not because they think I am one, but I think it depends on the day. The witch is two inches tall, has bright orange hair, and is wearing orange felt clothes. She is cheerful and smiling, with rosy cheeks, and her name is Taurina. Taurina is the “witch” representation of the Taurus sign, because that’s what I am through and through. She comes with a little note that says what she symbolizes. The note says that Taurina follows through with her decisions, she is known for companionship and patience, that her favorite color is orange and her favorite day of the week is Friday. When I looked confused upon opening it, one of my girls said, “Well, at least you’re taller than she is,” and I am indeed. A whopping five feet taller. She now sits on my desk and today was the inspiration for a story that a third grader wrote after school during our tutoring session. (If you’re curious, the story was about a witch named Taurina who wanted to take English classes with me at our school.)

Another student, one of my 7th graders, presented me today with a gift she’s been waiting to give me for months. This is the girl who went to my old summer camp in Maine this past summer, Camp Arcadia. While she was there, she thought of me and brought me back a bumper sticker that says “I (heart) Camp Arcadia” and told me she’d ordered me a song book, too, but that it had gotten stuck in the mail. It must have arrived over the weekend, because this morning she gave it to me all wrapped up nicely in a pretty green bag. In the book she’d placed the map she was given on her first day of school and some memorabilia from the annual camp’s birthday party. Her mom told me a month or so ago that she’d been so eager for the song book to arrive because it was such an important part of camp and that it was such a neat experience that the two of us shared. So all day long, I’ve had great memories and great songs floating through in my mind.

And to top it all off, some indisputable words from another 7th grader:

She’d asked me why I didn’t have a daughter. I laughed and told her it was because I had thirty-one 7th graders to take care of. How could I possibly have time for a daughter? She was silent for just a second, and I pulled out an equation for her to mull over.

“Thirty-one humans is the equivalent of one daughter,” I told her.

And just as quickly as those words left my mouth, my student shook her head rather vigorously in protest. “No, no, no,” she corrected me. “We are not human.”

And there you have it. Truer words have ne’er been spoken.


Actions

Information

21 responses

8 10 2007
Sofy

Four! It’s your lucky number! See what a great, thougtful, meaningful present it is?

And we weren’t like a pack of hyperactive monkeys. Monkeys are evil, terrible creatures that like to scare defenseless little humans and eat tons of bananas. We’re not evil, terrible creatures that like to scare defenseless little humans and eat tons of bananas. (At least I’m not. I hate bananas.)

-Sofy

8 10 2007
bella94

hahaha its true we are NOT human, well at least Leo is defined….he’s a butterfly. Wait, scratch that. He’s a DANCING butterfly!! hahahahhaha! As you can see I am hyper once more! muahamuahamuhahaha. I am taller than you!! hahahahaha. tralalalalala
you know im gonna kill luana?? for telling you? well, now ur gonna read my blog, and well ull figure it all out….i still havent written today…whoops im to hyper to write down what im thinking….to much thinking going on….ms c you know i wasnt kidding about wanting to be an english teacher?? its true! it is!!
bye ms.c
p.s. where did Baby C come from??

8 10 2007
Chich

I’m reallt happy you liked the presents cause we spent all our free time around Paraty finding those presents for you. And of course we gave the witch to you because we love you not because we think you’re one. How could you think of something like that? Anyway, I’m happy you liked the presents.

8 10 2007
luanaspider

Were not even close to humans!!

8 10 2007
ginacoggio

But how did you guys know to get a MUG? I mean, seriously! You hadn’t even read the post I wrote about mugs, had you? You are all crazy kids, and I love you so much.

8 10 2007
Sofy

We didn’t know, we just thought it was cute and a good present, because you are a super professora.
Hey, did you figure out how to put on the sword thingy?

-Sofy

8 10 2007
ginacoggio

No. You guys will have to help me affix my bling tomorrow at school.

8 10 2007
Sofy

Okay. But be aware that we might accidentaly cut off part of your ear, because that thing’s sorta hard to put on for the first time. Plus it’s sharp.
But, you know. You’ll still have the other ear.

-Sofy

8 10 2007
Chich

yeah we didn’t know you wanted a mug we just knew you would want one cuz we can read in the future, we have secret powers! So we used them to read your mind in the future and bought a wonderful mug for you!

8 10 2007
ginacoggio

I reiterate: I love you kids.

8 10 2007
luanaspider

When you talk about coffee I imagine you with 10 bigger-than-head mugs drinking coffee. Super hyper, because you drank half of them. Ohhh, that explains the coffee spill on my corrected work.hmmmm=)

8 10 2007
ginacoggio

Ooh, no. I never drink coffee and look at students’ work. Too much fun right there. I need to do it all in moderation.
(just kidding, my darlings.)

8 10 2007
Chich

Oh, I reread the post and saw something I hadden’t paid much attention too before. Did my little sister really write a story about the orange little witch we gave you? That’s funny. I never thought my little sister would write about a tiny orange witch!

8 10 2007
ginacoggio

Yes, but only because I told her to write a story about that. I give her a subject and she writes a story. Last week it was about two girls named Sandra and Gina who go to Sao Paulo. She took it from there and created a story about it being cold outside and how Gina and Sandra stole the jackets off of people’s backs because they were so cold.

8 10 2007
bella94

ms.c ur nuts, not as much as me but ur nuts…I learned how to be nuts from you, but it seems as I have mastered it.

8 10 2007
ginacoggio

What’s “ur”? “ur” is not a word! As your English teacher, I have the right to edit your comments for grammar, spelling, and word choice. “ur” is not a word! And capitalization, please? Weren’t you JUST saying you want to be an English teacher? Now’s the time to start practicing!!

8 10 2007
luanaspider

Now take that Isabella!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

8 10 2007
bella94

Ms.C!! This is a BLOG. I repeat a BLOG! Not an exam. Plus, I do want to be an English teacher. So I wil follow YOUR advice. :p
YOU’RE so picky. hihihihihihihihi did you read my blog?? That way you can see what really goes on in my head behind my crazily happy eyes. hehehehe

9 10 2007
Catherine

Looks like you’ve got some pretty sweet students!

9 10 2007
Davis

Good Grief, I can see now how text messaging will completely destroy the English language.

I’m with Catherine on your students.

10 10 2007
ginacoggio

(Yes, on both counts!)

Leave a Reply

