All-in-all, it was a very good day.

17 10 2007

First of all, let it be known that my last period class rocked my world today. Normally, being the last period of the day on a Wednesday, things don’t go so smoothly. But today? I don’t know what happened but it was like they were ready. They were on fire. I couldn’t have been happier.

Second, I bought my ticket to go home to the States in December.

Third, I bought a new digital camera. It is pink. I don’t normally like pink things, but I adore things on crazy sale. Therefore, I have a very cheap and very pink new digital camera that will be arriving with my boyfriend in only 9 days.

Fourth, I’m going away again tomorrow night. I leave for Rio for three days, returning Sunday, to attend a teachers’ conference.

Fifth, did we pick up on the fact that Dennis is going to be here in 9 days? That already, nearly three months have passed since we saw each other last? It doesn’t seem possible, but I’m not going to argue.

Sixth, while watching “Freedom Writers” with my 8th grade Advisory students this morning, I was choking back tears the entire time. The kids in the film remind me so much of my kids in New Haven and I was missing them a lot today. I was also choking back tears in one of my 7th grade classes while reading the first chapter of “Where The Red Fern Grows” aloud to them, just knowing where it was going. I can’t stand this book; it’s too much for me to handle.

Next, a new store, Lojas Americanas, just opened up the hill from my apartment. It’s like a tiny Wal-Mart and I’m very excited. I don’t know what kind of crap is in this one, but I’m just about to head up the hill now to drop off a film at Blockbuster and to perhaps pick up another.

And finally, meet Fart and Margaret:

Fart and Margaret

They are the two newest additions to my collection of Brazilian memorabilia, given to me by a wonderful student, and named by the very same class in which a student wrote a short story with the main character named Fart. I don’t know where the “Margaret” came from, but it’s nice alliteration, so I’m sticking with it.


Actions

Information

12 responses

17 10 2007
luanaspider

Eight good things happening in one day, thats certainly a good day!!

17 10 2007
ginacoggio

You’re absolutely right. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

17 10 2007
Catherine

Cool birds! Love the names!

18 10 2007
sangroncito

Lojas Americanas is the best for (relatively) cheap household stuff! Unfortunately we don`t have one in the small city I live in, but I always stop there when I am in Salvador.

Enjoy your trip to Rio!

18 10 2007
ginacoggio

This L.A. is an express one, so it’s got just a few things in it–mostly toys and shampoo and candy. It’s combined with a Citibank and a Blockbuster making it a place where I can do just about anything. I love it. But there’s no household products! I mean, there’s a juicer, but that’s about it. I was really hoping for something a little more like Carrefour. The L.A. down in Centro is much more comprehensive than the express one up by me.

18 10 2007
catch

Fart.

Best. Name. EVER.

18 10 2007
jeremy

Nice looking birds! Is fart a boys or a girls name?

18 10 2007
Susan

LOL…perfect set of bird names for the start of my day. This definitely made me smile.

18 10 2007
Jennie

I love Where The Red Fern Grows.

18 10 2007
Nilsa S.

Oooh, Rio. Ooooh, boyfriend after a drought. Not only did you have a fantastic Wednesday, but you have more great things coming your way!

18 10 2007
ginacoggio

When my kids threw out the name “Fart,” I knew I couldn’t have found a more perfect name for a bird. As far as the gender of the name, I suppose it would be a man’s name, because that was the gender of the character in my student’s story. And as far as Fart being the bigger or the smaller bird, I think it’s the bigger one, the one in the back. It has the more mischievous look on its face, the kind that says, “Who, me?”

18 10 2007
ginacoggio

Jennie–I’m afraid I loved it so much that I can’t bear to read it ever again. My kids all know now how much this book makes me cry and I think they’re eager to see if it’ll make them cry, too.

Leave a Reply

