Home Sweet Home, Campinas.

4 11 2007

Well, like all good plans, ours to stay one more day in Sao Paulo fell through. No big deal. The fact of the matter is that we didn’t want to spend more money when we could easily be at home and saving it, and when you go to Sao Paulo, there’s too many opportunities to spend, even if it is on cool things like Starbucks and art museums. And the other fact of the matter is that I wanted to wake up in my own home on Sunday morning. So by four in the afternoon we stumbled off the bus in Campinas and headed home, but not before buying bus tickets to Rio for this coming weekend. Yum.

I think the things that will always make me happy, regardless of where I am in the world or what I’m doing, are these: the smell of coffee in the morning, and the understanding that I don’t necessarily have to go anywhere on a rainy day on the weekend. This is the state I find myself in this morning and I couldn’t be more excited. This weekend has felt impossibly long because we left for the city on Thursday night, and so I feel like while we packed the weekend full of activity and walking around, we (excuse me, “I”) have time enough to recuperate before returning to work tomorrow. Plus, it is raining and we have two movies to watch. I can’t think of a better day.

Oh. I wanted to put links to some of the places we visited yesterday in Sao Paulo. Here they are:

  • MASP (Museu de Arte de Sao Paulo)
  • Chakras (A really beautifully decorated restaurant located in a cool spot in the city.)
  • Vila Madelena (where we spent most of the night on Friday bar hopping.)
  • Starbucks 2
Actions

Information

8 responses

4 11 2007
Nilsa S.

Sounds like you had a great getaway! I want a movie report when you’re done!!!!

4 11 2007
ginacoggio

Okay, movies for the weekend:

Marie Antoinette–I loved it because the costumes and settings were fabulous. Dennis practically choked himself just to stay awake because he was so bored through the whole thing. He was also pissed off that no one was speaking French even though the movie was set in France. And also that Kirsten Dunst spoke like she was a Valley Girl.

My Left Foot: The Story of Christy Brown–holy shit. I have no idea why I didn’t know about this movie until yesterday, but I do know why Daniel Day Lewis is one of the best actors on the face of the planet, far surpassing the bozos in Marie Antoinette who are barely even human, let alone actors worthy of attention. You have got to see this film. He is astounding, and so is the mother character. Seriously, if I could go back in time and be part of anyone’s family, I’d be part of Christy Brown’s family. I’m about to buy the book online.

Heroes–This is a new series we just started here. Dennis likes it way better than I do. But just like he got pissed off during Marie Antoinette because of accents, I am more than fuming at Heroes because of dialogue. This series has the most idiotic dialogue in the history of television. I know, I know, it’s just TV. But I gag and vomit my way through the episodes because the actors sound so ridiculously stupid. I feel sorry that they have to say the words written on the page and the people who write for that show should be ashamed of themselves for using so many stupid cliches. I am angry with Heroes. The only character worth watching is the guy Hiro, but that’s because he’s so cute and he has the best super power. (And I have been spending much too much time around 7th graders.)

Next up is Dream Girls. Anyone seen it? Any praise?

5 11 2007
Jennie

I’m glad you are having such a good time with Dennis – I was on vacation all last week and it took me a while to catch up, but I’m glad to know he arrived safely and you’re enjoying good time together!!

5 11 2007
Sofy

Yay! You don’t like Heroes? That’s awesome! I HATE Heroes! Except it doesn’t have the most idiotic dialogue in the history of television, because The Office has the most idiotic dialogue in the histoy of television. I thought I was the only one that didn’t like Heroes. Everyone loves it, and I really don’t get why, it’s so…dumb. It’s such an un-creative idea, that whole super power thing. And it’s confusing too. There’s so much stuff going on at the same time! I don’t get why it’s being so succesful and all that.
I thought Marie Antoinette was stupid, though. It made me hungry (I don’t remember why, I watched it a while ago. Was there a lot of food in the movie or something?) And I don’t like the actress that played Marie Antoinette, that Mary Jane person. What’s her real name? Kirsten Dunst? Something like that. She’s annoying. The only movie she’s ever been good in is Spider Man 1 and I guess she was okay in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

Um. Anyway, I’m glad you had such a great time in SP, and again at home on Sunday.

-Sofy

5 11 2007
ginacoggio

I understand why you don’t like The Office, but we’ll just have to agree to disagree because that show is brilliant. I think, however, that you have to be at least 25 years old to “get it,” so I’m not going to hold it against you for not liking it until you are 25. Then you will watch it again and laugh so hard your cheeks will melt off your face. This is not a joke. I love that show so much I want to marry it and have little Office Space babies.

5 11 2007
Sofy

Man, that shit better be over by the time I’m 25. Really, what’s there “to get?!” It’s just a completely nothing-ever-happens show.

-Sofy

5 11 2007
Sofy

I didn’t write shit. I completely meant “show.” Seriously. I would never ever write that word. I got confused. Really. I swear to everything. I didn’t mean it. I’m so so SO sorry. So sorry.

-Sofy
(see, I’m so sorry that I almost typed “sorry” again instead of Sofy. SO sorry that I’m ever joking about my own name, which I never do because I get enough of that from you guys) (which I never really got, because it’s such a boring, common name. Why don’t people even joke about the unusual ones?!) (Not the point. I’m sorry)

5 11 2007
ginacoggio

I’m sorry Sofy, but that comment must remain. I admit I raised my eyebrows when I read it first, but then burst out laughing when I read your next comment. Hilarious. Thank you for making me laugh so hard tonight.

Leave a Reply

