One of those days.

6 11 2007

I knew, almost before opening my eyes, that it was going to be one of those days. I’d just woken myself up from a dream about a house of ill repute in Woodbridge, Connecticut, that looked a little bit like how I imagine the backwoods Appalachain towns looking like. In my dream, I was questioning one of the “employees” about whether or not she really liked her job and wouldn’t she rather do something else to make a living? She ended up driving me around and showing me the town, that looked an awful lot like Watch Hill, Rhode Island, and so it was that I woke up more confused and tired from the experience than ready to start my day. Couple that dream with the fact that the morning began with a downpour and hasn’t really stopped all day, and what you’ve got is a grumpy girl who would rather stay in bed and read a book, than wake up, take a shower, go to work, and get kids to spell the word “beginning” correctly. But it is what it is, and now I have an afternoon of meetings that I’m just dying to go to.

The only saving grace of the day so far is that I began reading a new book called “Pocketful of Names” by Joe Coomer. It takes place in Maine, and so all day today my mind has been drifting back to my summers there. I’ve been daydreaming about what life would be like to live on one of those islands off the coast, and have seriously considered giving everything up and moving to a little cottage where I can write out the rest of my days, growing a garden and pulling in cool pieces of driftwood from the ocean, just like Hannah the main character.

And then I remember my profound love for Starbucks and Target and this store and think I’m maybe a little too materialistic for life on an island, and while there’s no real shame in admitting that, I’m feeling shameful about it anyway. It really is one of those days.


Actions

Information

13 responses

6 11 2007
Harold

Island living can be bleak in the winter, Gina. Writing, gardening, and pulling in cool pieces of driftwood are ideal summer island activities.

6 11 2007
Jennie

I hope it gets better for you…

6 11 2007
Nilsa S.

If day-dreaming helps you get through a miserable day, so be it! Just don’t let it get in the way of teaching your students to spell!

6 11 2007
ginacoggio

Actually today is not SO bad; it’s just one of the days that, when you count up all of the ones you’ve ever had, you look back upon and think, “Eh.” I think the rain had a lot to do with my mood, as always.

AND the fact that in the meeting after school we talked about whether or not it was okay for teachers to wear blue jeans to work. And most people were saying NO. And that just does NOT fly for me. I love me some blue jeans.

6 11 2007
Sofy

Beginning IS very hard to spell.
I like the little cottage idea. Except for the part where that means you’re moving to a place that might be farther (further?) away than New York. Oh, and the driftwood thing because I didn’t really get that. Does driftwood mean something to you other than “[maybe rotten] wood that floats on (in?) the water?” I think it does, because I can’t imagine why those would be cool and I certainly can’t imagine why you’d pull them out of the ocean. But the gardening and writing part, that sounds pretty cool. Especially the writing, because gardening isn’t really my thing. But hey, if you like it.

I hope your day gets better!

– Sofy

(I’m trying to be funny, by the way, so that I can make you feel better. But this rainy weather isn’t very joke-y, so it might not have been too good. It’s the thought that counts, though, so you should feel better anyway!)

6 11 2007
Sofy

I forgot to mention the blue jeans. What’s wrong with blue jeans? Why would teachers not wear them?

-Sofy

6 11 2007
Catherine

Gina, love the island idea. You know if you get a small group together (Kyle and I would be game) to live on the island with you, we COULD put a Starbucks on said island…

6 11 2007
ginacoggio

Sofy, that is an excellent question about blue jeans. Some people think it’s unprofessional to wear jeans. I am not part of those some people. I love jeans.

6 11 2007
luanaspider

Ms.C
Really, whats the problem with blue jeans?!?! If people think its unprofessional they dont wear it, but let people who like it wear it. Will it disturb you if you see teachers in blue jeans. You wear what you want to wear(as long as it is appropriate). Its ok if they say no bathing suit, but jeans are like normal cloth.

Im really exited for our history class, and I think that our class will lighten your day( of course, if im in it…)

Have a good day!!!

6 11 2007
Sofy

Shouldn’t students or parents be the ones to decide if something is unprofessional for teachers to wear to school? (I assume you’re not meeting with students. Or parents) Why would it matter for anybody else?
I can understand it not being okay for a person to wear bikinis or underwear to school. I could even understand it not being okay to wear short skirts. But jeans? It all sounds so…I dunno, old-fashioned and pointless.
Is it not okay for guy teachers to wear jeans either?

-Sofy

7 11 2007
jeremy

We all have those days, I myself have to fight everyday not to run screaming into the woods, because my job is nothing more than trying to get people to separate from their money. If there’s room for an artist, and his wife I think I’m ready for an island commune.

I can draw a flag with a picture of blue jeans on it.

7 11 2007
ginacoggio

Excellent. Shall we all move? So far we have a Starbucks and a flag, plus any number of gardens, and maybe a nice driftwood store. Do we need anything else?

7 11 2007
kerrianne

Here’s to hoping today is far better than yesterday. (I too love Target and Anthropologie and chai from Starbucks is hard to beat.) Happy! Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

