Parabens, Ma!

26 11 2007

I think we all need to send out a big “congratulations” to my mother who bought her first computer!

This is real big news. Let me give you a little background information and some insight into my mother’s reluctance to enter the 21st century. My mom was furious at all of us (my father, my step-father, me) when we introduced these ground-breaking technologies into the house over past fifteen years. However, after something like ten days, or in the case of the computer a mere sixteen minutes, her opinion did a complete 180 and she claimed ownership and adoration of them:

  • Call-waiting
  • Microwave
  • Cable television
  • VHS player
  • CD player
  • DVD player
  • Cell phone
  • Computer (that my step-father made very sure was his and not my mother’s because he knew she’d soon claim it for her own if he wasn’t overly territorial about it.)

And now she’s got her own computer, to the relief of my step-father who no longer has to wait in line to use his own electronics purchase. So let us all welcome my mother with open arms into the world of technology, into the here and now, and hope that she doesn’t stay up all hours of the night IM’ing her friends and creating  custom MySpace pages. I wouldn’t put it past her, though. Let me know if she’s chatting with you past midnight because if she is, she’s totally grounded.


Actions

Information

12 responses

26 11 2007
Sof* Mones

Ms. C, that´s so funny. It happend kidda same thing with me…

26 11 2007
Sof* Mones

I’m sorry, this computers at school are awful… it just sended by itself…

As I was saying… We had this super bab computer at home with no memory to download anything… And when I asked my parents of a new one, they’ve always said that it was unuseful… After 100000 years, I finaly made their minds and they were thinking to buy a LapTop… But my mom always said she didn’t like computers… Anyway, when they came from NY with a MacBook, she got all exited and she wanted (actually she still wants) me to teach her how to use it cus she’s “MODERNA” right now… I wanna kill myself! This was supposed to be 75% mine computer and 25% only my family’s! (huahuahua) just kiding… SOMEDAY I’ll teach her… hauuhauha

26 11 2007
Tina (aka Mom)

Yippee !! Another post about ME !!! But I must confess, unlike many of my daughter’s previous posts for which I have been fodder – (fun, cute, sweet, and smart fodder, but fodder still), this particular post actually rings 100% TRUE – actually, she even left out something from her grand list : my digital camera… That said, I’m here, ready and waiting for those comments…..

26 11 2007
ginacoggio

(You can understand the source of my modesty and need for attention now, can’t you, Internet?)

26 11 2007
Sofy

Awesome! Congratulations! Have fun with your new computer, Mrs. Coggio!

-Sofy

26 11 2007
Tina (aka Mom)

Thank you, thank you, Miss Sofy !

26 11 2007
ginacoggio

(Ooh, watch out, Mom. Sofy doesn’t like the “Miss” in front of her name. Now that you said that, I’m probably going to get the backlash at school tomorrow. If I don’t post anything, it’s because I’ll be frozen solid from Miss Sofy’s icy cold stare down the hallway.)

26 11 2007
ginacoggio

(And Sofy, just note the fact that I defended you from the “Miss” that I know you don’t like. And then I made fun of you, but that’s beside the point.)

26 11 2007
Sofy

I think I only don’t like the Miss in front of my name if it’s coming from you, Ms. C. After all, you did just make fun of me, made fun of me earlier today because of my sickness as well, and called me Bo. You tease my name too much, so you’re not allowed to call me anything except Sofy.

And I don’t have an icy cold stare. You have an icy cold stare.

-Sofy

26 11 2007
marissa

YAY! Witty offspring and a new computer….you, Gina’s Mom, officially have it ALL.
I wish you many nights of gloriously mindless web surfing and online shopping! Enjoy!!

26 11 2007
Jennie

Congrats, Gina’s Mom!

26 11 2007
Tina (aka Mom)

Thanks to all of Gina’s wonderful readers !!

Leave a Reply

