It’s definitely jet lag.

14 01 2008

I’m wide awake at 1:45 in the morning. This may be for two reasons:

1) I had soda tonight.

2) I am reading a fabulous book—–so super fabulous that when I forced myself to turn out the light at 1:15, I stayed awake wondering what was going to happen next. Have you heard of this book? It’s called The Liars’ Club by Mary Karr. I got it for Christmas from my aunt, reader of all things fabulous, and I actually skimmed the last few pages of my previous book so I could hurry up and get to reading this one. And I was so interested in reading it that I even read the introduction, which is notable only because I never read introductions even though I know I should, a lesson taught to me by my 12th grade English teacher Mr. Carter but which I never took to heart because often introductions are stupid.

So now I am awake and sipping a mug of warm milk because I’ve heard that’s good for trying to fall asleep and I’m typing super fast because once I’m done with this entry I’m going to rip into Chapter 3 of this book and not put it down until I either A) fall asleep or B) have to go to work at 7.


Actions

Information

4 responses

15 01 2008
luanaspider

Ms.C,

I know what its like, I got this book in the States its called The Golden Compass and I usually find myself reading it untill 1:00 am or so. I’m nearly in the half of it and I can’t stop reading. I’m probably going to buy the two other books from the collection and ship it here. I hope you enjoy these last days of vacation and I’m eager to have English again.

15 01 2008
ginacoggio

Yay for English! Yay for reading good books! I hope you can get your hands on those books to keep you busy during our SSR classes! It’s great to hear from you again! This semester is going to fly by!

16 01 2008
kelvin lu

you know what the obvious problem here is right? you’re reading ‘interesting’ books to make yourself fall asleep. what you need to do is read ‘difficult’ books like the canterbury tales with its foreign medieval language or maybe proust in french or maybe some topic more foreign to your disposition, like quantum mechanics or a chemistry textbook. i tend to opt for art history essays or philosophy books that use a lot of trendy jargon. if i don’t fall asleep right away then it’s like getting extra credit for busting through something that would normally knock me out after a page or two.

16 01 2008
ginacoggio

Huh. I never thought of it that way! That is an excellent, excellent suggestion. And I think engineering books are the way to go. Or books about finance.

Leave a Reply

