Weekend non-adventures.

20 01 2008

Hi there.

How was your weekend? Did you get out and enjoy the fresh air? Did you snowboard or ski in the marvelous winter snow that’s sure to have fallen where you live? Did you get together with friends or see any good movies? My deepest hope is that one of you had something of interest to do because I spent my weekend with my butt faithfully glued to the couch making my way through some books. I started and finished a book about Shakespeare, written by one of my favorite writers Bill Bryson, and am well underway in the book Rumspringa, about the life of Amish teenagers.

And that’s it. I’d feel bad about it only if the weather were nice. Fortunately, to suit my laziness, the weather has done nothing but rain and thunder. I haven’t once seen direct sunlight or blue sky since Friday. These days it’s been so cool outside that I wear jackets and jeans and barely break a sweat. Right now, for instance, I’m sitting on the couch wrapped up in a blanket I stole from Dennis and a long-sleeved shirt. A breeze is blowing through the open window, and I had to close the porch door for fear of the rain splashing into the living room like it does on stormy days.

In any case, this is my last weekend of utter freedom before I go back to work. I spent it alone and totally silent. I’m not wallowing in self-pity, don’t worry; I’m just telling it like it is. I feel good about having read so much, having caught up on sleep, and having spent a good deal of time talking with Dennis.

Oh, and speaking of Dennis, he starts another film job tomorrow! And so that makes our telephone time together this weekend even more worthwhile considering once this job of his starts, if the last job is any indication, the next time I’ll talk to him will be sometime late April. I exaggerate, of course. I’m so happy for him and for this great opportunity, but much like I’m sure he feels for me and my opportunities, it’s a bitter-sweet happiness. I’m happy in Brazil, he’s happy working on film. But our jobs keep us apart from one another. Ah, well, eighteen months in and we’re old pros at this long-distance thing. It’s not forever, and I need to remind myself of that.

Actions

Information

6 responses

20 01 2008
Jennie

So playing Scrabble with me is a non-adventure??
: )

20 01 2008
ginacoggio

🙂 That’s been a wonderful distraction from myself! Thank you!!!

20 01 2008
Susan

Brutally cold for Arkansas..and it sounds like you put a piece of CT in your pocket for Brazil with the coolness in your air there.
New books and rainy days can be great times. You already have a full week behind you into the 6 months.

20 01 2008
ginacoggio

I know….I’m thankful for how cool it is. I thought I’d be coming back to sweltering heat! So it’s been an easy transition.

9 06 2008
ladybughugs

So you took a blanket from your boyfriend in CT where it goes below freezing every day in January to Brazil where it never gets that cold? At least you have something that reminds you of him and makes you feel close to him!

9 06 2008
ginacoggio

Oh but it DOES get cold! REALLY cold!
And plus, that blanket was attached to me the entire time I was home, so it felt wrong to leave it there. It became something of a security blanket and even now, five months after I took it from him, I still find myself wrapped up in it in the middle of the night.

Leave a Reply

