A Challenge For You! (With Prizes!!)

23 01 2008

Tonight, I challenge you to…a challenge.

Below you see a picture of coins. It is up to you to decide their value. You can click on the picture, which will take you to my Flickr page for more details (and for a larger view). However, if you don’t want to click on it, keep reading.

Money

Here is the description for the game:
In the picture, you see 10 coins. Together they are worth R$3,30. I have placed them all face down (which is really “face” up, as you can maybe tell; I think Jesus is on one of them) so you don’t see their values.

Here are the values of the coins:
R$1,00
R$0,50
R$0,25
R$0,10
R$0,05

Your task is to correctly label the values of the coins from LEFT TO RIGHT.

Complicating matters further:

There are two values that appear an odd number of times. The rest appear an even number of times.

Bonus: Identify the coin made of chocolate.

For your efforts, the first reader who can correctly identify the values of the coins in order from left to right will win a beautiful hand-made piece of art from Brazil. I don’t know what it will be just yet, but I will pick out something lovely from the local hippie fair for you on Saturday and will send it with love and affection shortly thereafter.

DEADLINE: Friday, January 25. 9pm EST. (Midnight, my time.)

RESTRICTIONS: NO BRAZILIANS MAY PLAY THIS GAME. IT IS FOR GRINGOS ONLY. (I’m sorry, but you have an unfair advantage, I hope you understand. But, on second thought, I wonder if you’d be able to get it? I’ve lived here for almost two years and still can’t keep them all straight.) Anyway, no locals can play this game.  Sorry, my students. I love you, but this is one game for the folks at home.


Actions

Information

21 responses

23 01 2008
luanaspider

Ms.C.
That´s soooo cool!!! Too bad Brasilians can’t do it. But I think it is a great idea and thats why me and another bunch of people love your blog!!!!!Thats a great idea and If was from the States I would enjoy doing it or trying!=)

23 01 2008
ginacoggio

Thanks Miss Spider!! Sounded fun to me, too.

23 01 2008
Tina (aka Mom)

Well, first of all, this is very tricky!! Brazil has so many different coins for each value, and then there are the “old” coins and the “new” ones – and in the description of them on some of the websites, there are different famous people (explorers,etc.) whose pictures are on the backs, but all the guys look alike!! Plus, in your picture there is not enough light shown on #8 and #10, so I really can’t tell a thing about them. (enough of the complaining, I know, I know….).

So, here is all I could get, from left to right:

R$1,00
R$0,10
R$0,50
R$0,50
R$0,25
R$0,05
R$0,05
??
R$0,25
??

I did my best, and “angels can do no more”, as we all know…. This was fun, and I can’t wait to see what other people come up with (and what the real answers are!!).

23 01 2008
Susan

Gosh girl its been so long since looked at anything other than US currency I’m not even sure but here we go. First I always picture chocolate coins wrapped in gold so I’m going with the 5th from the left.
R $1,00
R $0,10
R $0,05
R $0,50
R $0,25
R $0,10
R $0,05
R $0,50
R $0,25
R $1,00

I’m with your mom some of the last few were sort of hard to decipher but I can’t wait to see what everyone else thinks. This was fun.

24 01 2008
Jennie

I’m overwhelmed by this challenge and almost didn’t participate, but the prize is enticing, so I’m going for it!

I WANT the 4th from the left to be the chocolate one because it’s the biggest, but my guess is it’s the fifth from the left.

From left to right:

R$1,00
R$0,05
R$0,10
R$0,50
R$0,25
R$0,10
R$0,05
R$0,25
R$0,25
R$0,25

24 01 2008
Tina (aka Mom)

P.S. I forgot to go for the bonus: My guess is it’s the 8th from the left.

24 01 2008
ginacoggio

So far, no winners…. Keep guessing or give it another shot!
I’ll reveal the ones you all got correct to give you another chance and to encourage others to participate:

Coin 1=R$1,00
Coin 4=R$0,50
Coin 5=R$0,25
Coin 7=R$0,05
Coin 9=R$0,25

24 01 2008
ginacoggio

Also, the Bonus is still up for grabs. First to guess correctly on the Bonus will earn a prize also.

24 01 2008
Jennie

So if none of them are correct, can I go back to my gut instinct on the chocolate coin? I think the biggest is chocolate. It just has to be. Chocolate is cool like that.

24 01 2008
Tina (aka Mom)

I’m changing my bonus guess to #1.

24 01 2008
Tina (aka Mom)

This is making me crazy!! Here is my final effort, from left to right:

R$1,00
R$0,10
R$0,10
R$0,50
R$0,25
R$0,05
R$0,05
??
R$0,25
?? (but I think this is the chocolate one)

Good grief!!! And good luck to those other nice participants, by the way!!

25 01 2008
Susan

I keep thinking that the bonus chocolate coin has to either be #1 or #4 but I think I’ll go with #4 because it doesn’t look as perfect and shiny in the picture as the others? …Does that make sense?
R$1,00
R$0,25
R$0,25
R$0,50
R$0,25
R$0,25
R$0,05
R$0,10
R$0,25
R$0,10

OH my gosh I can’t wait to see the answers..LOL! I love this.

25 01 2008
YFBID

mwahh, haa, haaa. you didn’t say that brazilian residents couldn’t play. i’m going to give this a shot. HERE GOES (heart pounding slightly):

#1 – R$1
#2 – 10
#3 – 10
#4 – 50
#5 – 25
#6 – 10
#7 – 5
#8 – 10
#9 – 25
#10 – 25

chocolate = 4th from the left.

BRILLIANT game. love it, love it. now i’m going to just sit here clicking the “refresh” button incessantly until you announce the winner. hope i don’t get carpo tunnel in my fingertip!

25 01 2008
ginacoggio

Listen YFBID, I know who you are and I know where you live and it is four floors beneath me and since I specifically said “NO LOCALS CAN PLAY” I’m sticking to it.
Nice try.

I’ll still consider your answers and let you know if you win or not. You are one sneaky expat.

25 01 2008
YFBID

darn it.

25 01 2008
YFBID

ya know, a “local,” by gringo definition, is considered a “he who is from the place.” I, by gringo definition, am NOT a LOCAL. just for the record.

25 01 2008
rosie

I should learn what these coins are, seeing as I am going to be using this money in 2 weeks!!! Woohooo! I won’t enter though, because I can get my own hand-made Brazilian piece of art when I am there🙂

25 01 2008
Chich

Hey Ms. C,
Who said that I’m brazilian? Local? Not really, I live in my own imagined world…
Here is how it goes from left to right:

1,00 – Chocolate
0,10
0,10
0,50
0,25
0,05
0,05
0,50
0,25
0,50

Loved the game!!!!

25 01 2008
Tina (aka Mom)

Oh rats, I just reread the challenge and realized that I never even paid attention to the part about the total value of the coins – that could have helped me – I guess that serves me right for not reading thoroughly!! 😦

25 01 2008
ginacoggio

Okay, folks. Polls are in. It’s past midnight and that means time’s up for the challenge.
It also means bedtime for me. I’ll post the winner tomorrow!!!

(And Chich, since you’re my student, you’re automatically disqualified because you live in this country, even if it is temporarily, and even if you do spend most of your time in the other worlds in your imagination.)

26 01 2008
Chich

Even if I was disqualified, I won, HA!! And, I am not your student, not anymore anyway (Advisory doesn’t count, as you say it you dont teach it right?) Plus I don’t spend most of my time in other worlds, I spend it ALL there!

Even if you considered me as a possible winner and player it wouldn’t count anyway… That’s because Lorraine told me the answers and I didn’t know anything, so it wouldn’t be fair.

Leave a Reply

