This is my final answer.

20 02 2008

After months of thinking, debating, making lists, worrying, and keeping myself awake at night with a knot in my stomach, I’ve come to a conclusion. Perhaps it’s something I knew all along that I’d do.

I’ll be moving here to teach here.

The story behind this choice is long, one that started two years ago in Philadelphia when I got the offer to go to Brazil. I won’t go into all the details now, but suffice it to say that the whole ordeal, in Goldilock’s words, feels “just right.”

Maybe you can understand why the title of the blog might be difficult now, considering this move might just be for a very long time.


Actions

Information

16 responses

20 02 2008
Marissa

AMAZING. I offer my most heartfelt congratulations on a profoundly exciting choice!!!
I am sure that you will as perfect for those students as they will be for you.

20 02 2008
Nilsa S.

CONGRATULATIONS! That sounds like a really wonderful way to combine your international experiences with something closer to home. Awesome! Plus, since my brother actually lives in New York, this means we’ve drastically increased the odds of meeting one day. Because, that would be an honor – to meet you!

20 02 2008
At. Sarah (aka SIS of WOW)

OH GINA !
I wondered, I made a guess, hoped, crossed my fingers and said a prayer ! And it came true ! I’m so excited and so very, very happy for you ! And for the two of you – and of course here I don’t mean Self .
Goodness but I am in the exclamatory mode. Totally.
An impossible task – and yet perfectly done.

20 02 2008
Susan

Oh my gosh Congratulations! That is wonderful news and in my heart even though I don’t know you at all and have never met you…glad your “coming home” to the USA for a while anyhow. I want to know what your mom had to say!..haha Seriously…so happy for you! I look forward to hearing more about it and maybe a new name for the blog or a new blog. Good stuff.

20 02 2008
Catherine

That’s wonderful, Gina! Congrats:).

21 02 2008
Tina (aka M

You can just about imagine how proud I am of my daughter – for how much of herself she has given to her students, and for the high quality of work she has done so far in her teaching career. I know wherever she goes she will leave a wonderful, lasting, positive imprint on her students, just as I know she feels they leave on her. I wish that I could have had a teacher like Gina when I was growing up !! I will also say that I am more than thrilled that we’ll both be on the same continent again, and look forward to whatever kind of blog she comes up with – whatever it is, it will be fantastic !!

21 02 2008
Tina (aka Mom)

That was Tina (aka Mom) leaving the previous comment, by the way – I guess I was just too excited to write my name correctly before….

21 02 2008
rob

Hey, congrats on el decisione! Sounds like you’ve taken Napoleon’s advice, “Follow your heart. That’s what I do….”
I think Manhattan is still an adventure even if it is a more domestic one. I’ll be moving on again very soon. Not sure where I’m going next but I know I’ll always be coming back to my family in Jersey, which means….. I may actually see you again!!
I’m very excited🙂
I’m just sorry (and filled with shame) that I didn’t get down to see you😦

Congrats again and hope to see you sometime soon.
Rob

ps. I feel like I have to be more responsible with my posting considering I’m just below your Mom. I’m feeling pressure to behave!

21 02 2008
Tina (aka Mom)

Ha ha, Rob… 🙂

21 02 2008
Rachel L

Congrats!!! I’m so excited for you. And even more excited that you will be in the same city as me!

21 02 2008
Jennie

How exciting! The school sounds amazing and will be a perfect fit for you. I’m really happy for you. Your future students are so lucky. What subjects/grades will you be teaching?

21 02 2008
ginacoggio

Oh yes. The details: 7th & 8th grade English and Social Studies. It’s basically just what I was looking for.

22 02 2008
William

Wow that is awesoem. Congratulations.

22 02 2008
ginacoggio

Thanks to all of you! I’m SUPER excited, and having met my colleagues today, I have even more reason for this excitement.

23 02 2008
jake

Now I have one more reason to work for the UN! Does the UN need a kinesiologist? They must – everyone does – right =)

Congrats – such good news!

Smiles and peace
Jake

10 06 2008
ladybughugs

Did you know that the UN has a chapel? Did you know you could get married there? Just a little factoid to file away for future reference.😉

That is such exciting, wonderful news. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

