My cup runneth over.

24 02 2008

On my flight home, I had a row all to myself on the plane. Row 22, seats A and B. For the ten hours, through the turbulence and the smooth times, I was able to stretch out, lie down, put my feet up, lean back in any position into which I could maneuver my body. It was glorious. Last night, just as the flight attendant announced they were closing the doors and to prepare for taxiing out to the runway, I realized I had my own row for a second time. Very nice. I finished my book, listened to music, piled up the pillows and hoarded blankets. It was a delightful nine hours and when I woke up, it was breakfast time and the breakfast was a bagel with cream cheese. I’m not sure it could have been any better than it was.

My friends met me at the airport with a car so I didn’t have to take the bus back to Campinas. Normally I don’t mind taking the bus, but it was extra nice to have a hug upon walking out the customs doors. It’s always nice to find a familiar face in the sea of those I walk into upon arrival.

When I came home, I was greeted by Marco, the guard for my building. He handed me a package in which was a bag of curry, sent to me from Mei in Minnesota. Her blog is filled with great food photos and exotic recipes that are full of flavor and spice and are easy to make.
Marco also handed me an envelope. In that was an acceptance letter to the NYU Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development!!! The exclamation points are a little unnecessary considering I’ve already accepted a job in New York for next year, but it’s really nice to know that could have been another option had I not found a job. And who knows? I can probably attend part-time because UNIS helps contribute to my professional growth, and certainly getting a second Master’s is considered professional growth.

Yesterday, in the hours before my flight, Dennis found out about a possible film job in Los Angeles. This, of course, put a giant rain cloud over my week. So in the minutes that followed this discovery, and during my subsequent pouts and whines, he cupped my face in his hands and told me, “Bean, no matter where you are, no matter where I am, no matter what we are doing, we are together. I found my Bean. We are together.”


Actions

Information

7 responses

24 02 2008
Tina (aka Mom)

I am so glad that I know Dennis and can vouche for that fact that he is a real human being – otherwise, I’m afraid that your readers may think you were actually writing fairy tales about this Prince Charming !

24 02 2008
Susan

Love your mom’s comment…love that your flight was extra roomy and included a bagel with cream cheese…and love that your Dennis loves you completely. This is a perfect post.

25 02 2008
William

Glad you are safe.

What kind of film work does Dennis do?

25 02 2008
ginacoggio

Dennis works primarily with locations–scouting them, making contracts for them, and doing all the legwork that’s involved with filming in a place. He really wants to do lighting eventually, but for now he really likes locations work.

25 02 2008
Jennie

“I found my Bean.”

Love it.

25 02 2008
marissa

Is it weird that I cried at the end of that post?
SO VERY SWEET.

PS I heart Gina’s Mom. I say this knowing full well that Gina will admonish me for “encouraging” her.

26 02 2008
Nilsa S.

Sometimes all it takes is your loved one to let you know you still rock their world. Even if you have to do it long distance. Again.

Leave a Reply

