Trujillo dreams.

4 03 2008

Right now I am reading a book by Junot Diaz called “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.” In it, the narrator talks about a curse and in the book he calls it “fuku.” It is set in the Dominican Republic and heavily foot-noted, which is strange for fiction. I’m having a difficult time with it because of the footnotes so I skip over them, which is probably not what I should do as a reader, and certainly not what I should be admitting to doing as an English teacher. In any case, it’s what I’m doing and there’s no way around it.

The book is also about Trujillo, the country’s dictator for 30-odd years. The crimes! The horrors of such a leader! I recommend the book (regardless of the footnotes) but I fear the curse discussed in the book has crept over to my reading. It seems, for the last two nights, I have not been able to sleep much considering each time I close my eyes and drift to sleep, the word “Trujillo” runs through my mind like a train and for the life of me I cannot sleep peacefully. I was so distracted today by the possible fuku of Trujillo that I barely managed to keep my eye on the page thinking that if I read one more day of this book I’ll never fall back to sleep again.

Anyone reading anything good right now? I need a book to look forward to when I’m done with the Diaz book. (Anyone read his other book, “Drown”? Now that is a book worth reading. And without curses.)


Actions

Information

14 responses

4 03 2008
Nilsa S.

I am about to finish up A Thousand Splendid Suns. Same author as The Kite Runner. Both excellent reads.

4 03 2008
ginacoggio

Did you see the movie yet? It was out here in Brazil for about thirteen hours, so obviously I missed it. Boo hiss.

4 03 2008
Rachel L

I am reading “Lost: A Search for Six in Six Million.” I’m not even halfway through it yet but I love it so far. It’s a biography – about a writer who is searching for six members of his family who perished in the Holocaust and whose stories were never told. I think you’ll appreciate the writing – he tells stories inside of stories inside of other stories – it’s sometimes hard to keep up, but very clever.

4 03 2008
ginacoggio

Wow. That sounds like a book I would LOVE. Who wrote it? I’ll definitely look for it!!!! Thanks for the recommendation!

4 03 2008
brazista

well, i can tell you what NOT to read. for the past three weeks i’ve been trying to get through “sweetness in the belly” by camilla gibb – have you heard of it? has anyone else read it? despite the interesting plot, it uh, how do you say? SUCKS! (and that’s as of pg. 106). anyway, thought i’d share.

4 03 2008
Susan

I started “Night” by Elie Wiesel and I’m not sure about it yet. Its an autobiography and its deep about his life as a teenager during the Holocaust. Very good writer though. Also reading “The Heart is a Lonely Hunter” by Carson McCullers. I read too many at once but I like this one much better than the first one I listed. And I am ashamed to say that when I was looking today they are both on the Oprah list. Ugh!

5 03 2008
ginacoggio

I think Oprah has chosen some good books over the years, but I know the “ugh” feeling your talking about.
About “Night,” it was one of the most powerful books I’ve ever read and I cried and cried my way through it. One night I read it because I was about to teach it in Providence to my students and each time I tried to put it down and go to sleep, I felt guilty so I picked it back up and finished it in one night. I was like, “This man has lived through such hell and I have the gall to close up his story and put it down so I can sleep? What privilege! The least I could do is finish it!” One really good book along the same lines as Night is Maus I and Maus II. They’re biography/autobiography told in comic book form with all kinds of symbolism in the characters. It’s really one of the most interesting books (pair of books, I guess. There’s two of them) and it’s a really interesting way of reading.
Carson McCullers….what else did he write?

And Brazista, where’d you get that book? Saraiva or in the library? Or did your mom send it to you?

5 03 2008
Rachel L

The author is Daniel Mendelsohn

5 03 2008
freeandflawed

I’m not sure if you’re into these books, but here are a few that I love and recommend.

“Body of Work” by Christine Montross
“Stiff” by March Roach
“Bitter is the New Black” by Jen Lancaster
“A Dirty Job” by Christopher Moore
“Straight Up and Dirty” by Stephanie Klein

5 03 2008
rosie

I just read Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides and loved it! (I read the whole thing in Brazil😉

5 03 2008
ginacoggio

Middlesex is by far one of my most favorite books. Don’t you agree that the narrator is AMAZING? Just SUCH an active voice, such ease between family stories….my goodness. I am speechless when it comes to that book. Except, not speechless, because obviously I have good things to say about it. And a lot to say about it. It was just so much fun to read!! (Um, especially in Brazil!)

And welcome, FreeandFlawed! I’m not sure I’ve heard of the books you recommended (which I will add to my Amazon wishlist right away) but I think I have heard of “Stiff.” Isn’t that about dead people? Like, I mean, what happens to your body after death? I had a friend who read it but maybe I’m confusing it with a Jon Krakauer book.

5 03 2008
Jim Murphy

I bought the Oscar Wao book on Audible.com and listened to it on my commute back and forth to work. I absolutely loved this story!! I hear what your saying about the “fuku”! Everytime something goes wrong I wonder if I’m cursed with it myself. I have a son that is half Dominican and this story really hit home for me.

I won’t recommend a book but I feel I must recommend listening to a book on an iPod. It is a really cool thing when there’s no time to sit and read.

Cheers,

Jim

5 03 2008
Susan

I heard about a book coming out in April called “The Last Lecture” by Randy Pausch. I blogged about it on my blog. He is actually dying with Pancreatic cancer and he wrote it for his 3 little kids. The video is powerful even though OH MY GOSH it involves Oprah once again. LOL! Maybe I need therapy. It does look great though.

6 03 2008
ginacoggio

Oh, I totally remember watching that video. Oh MAN. I didn’t know he had a website so I just now went to it and now my face it all blotchy from crying. He has such positive energy, such a beautiful outlook on life because he sees how precious it is. And the message? Be with the people you love.
That’s it. So simple.

Leave a Reply

