Sunday.

16 03 2008

One of the things I like most about living here is knowing that it’s rained without needing to look outside. Being so far up I can hear the cars’ tires splash water around and those splashes echo off the concrete buildings that rise up on either side of Av. Anchieta. Although these days I’m no big fan of rain since we are deep into the season named after it, I do smile at the sound of splashes and realize that it’s because I’ve spent so much time here that I’ve come to learn the sound of water on tires.

 

It’s been another slow day here in Campinas, and another one during which I’ve not done much. I surprised myself this morning, waking up and immediately taking care of the few dishes that have piled up this weekend, and then turning next to the laundry I’ve been meaning to do, all before turning on the water for coffee. Later I made vitaminas (fruit shakes) and talked for hours with Dennis. I did school work, caught up on grading, and am now in the midst of planning for this coming week which, because of Easter weekend, is a short one. Hard to believe we’re half-way through with March and that this time next month I’ll be basking in the sun in Bahia with my good friend Jay. It will be a much appreciated vacation for several reasons, not the least of which is having a visitor again. I love visitors.


Actions

Information

2 responses

17 03 2008
Jennie

I love it when I accidentally wake up early and get a lot accomplished. It’s amazing how much I can get done when I’m not being lazy.

18 03 2008
Susan

Kudos to what Jennie said and I also love the words “basking in the sun”. My feet almost felt sand.

Leave a Reply

