Burning the midnight oil.

2 04 2008

I’m yawning like it’s midnight and I’ve just run a marathon.  But this is hardly the case because it’s only 9:01pm and I’ve just come from yoga. I don’t know why I’m so tired these days, but I think it has something to do with work. Can you believe I’m actually doing it? (Working, I mean.) I remember the days a year ago, or even months ago, when I could procrastinate and procrastinate and everything would be fine. But now? Sweet Baby Jesus, to procrastinate would be the most dangerous thing I could do. Yesterday was the first day of the fourth quarter, which means I’m in my final 10 weeks at school and in Brazil and, like any end-of-the-year rush, I have only just realized how much left there is to do.

So the fact that I am tired at 9pm is to be expected at this time of year. I told one of my yoga professors (Oi, Pedro!) tonight that I am usually in bed by 9:30 which is why I can’t go to the Sat Chakra class that happens at 8:45 every Wednesday night, and he was all, “Gina, on an early night, I go home at 10:30,” and I was all, “no thanks.” Do you know what happens to me if I am awake past my bedtime and I have to work the next day? Ask my students. They’ll probably say something to the effect of, “Ms. C shoots imaginary razors out of her eyes and through our skulls when we even sneeze.” Maybe they wouldn’t use those words exactly, but that’s probably how they feel. So for everyone’s benefit I try to go to sleep early. I read once in a yoga book that we shouldn’t sleep more than 6 hours a night, but frankly that doesn’t work for me. Not that need a million hours, but definitely more than six. And it also just feels like I’m getting less the later in the evening I go to sleep, even if I can sleep late the next day. I love going to sleep early: it’s indulgent.

So that’s that. I don’t have much to offer tonight, but then again I rarely do. I hope you all have had a wonderful Wednesday. I hope soon there will be a rush of creative energy through my system to give all you readers something worth reading.


Actions

Information

5 responses

2 04 2008
Susan

You have plenty to offer! Hey and there is not one thing wrong with a good 8 to 10 hours of sleep. Its good stuff.

3 04 2008
ginacoggio

True. We grow at night, don’t we? Maybe I’m still clinging onto the hope that I won’t be under 5’2″ my whole life.

3 04 2008
Harold

I agree with Susan; it’s always a delight to read your blog.

3 04 2008
ginacoggio

Wow, Harold! Thank you! 🙂

14 04 2008
Jennie

I’m so sad if I don’t get to bed before 9:30. I’m such a grandma.

Leave a Reply

