Long hair blues.

11 04 2008

Dear Abby,

My hair is long. It is so long it wraps around my neck while I sleep. This is annoying for two reasons:
1) It could strangle me.
2) It wakes me up when I feel it wrap around my neck.

Frankly, I’m not sure which is more obnoxious, the strangling or the waking up. I do love me some sleep. In any case, I haven’t had hair this long since I was five and I can’t remember my coping mechanisms for dealing with my hair while I was sleeping. I’ve been tempted to cut it off, or trim it just a little bit, but I’m still kind of fascinated that my hair has grown so long. I’m feeling confused and conflicted. Could you help? Do you have any suggestions about how to care for my nighttime hair before my scissors come out?

Signed,
Troubled Tresses


Actions

Information

7 responses

11 04 2008
william

Cut it off. Short hair makes other bedtime actitivities much more enjoyable.

11 04 2008
Rachel L

Scrunchies! Yes, that’s right. You can even get yourself a velvet purple sparkly one! They tie hair back without causing breakage, etc. of hair.

11 04 2008
rosalicious

braid those tresses!

11 04 2008
marissa

I second the 80’s style scrunchie. You need to do I high ponytail so you can lay comfortably ( or is it lie…dammmit!). Whatever, but a scrunchie will not make a huge crimp in your hair and will not cause breakage.

11 04 2008
ginacoggio

So wait, if I use just a regular elastic, even if it’s wrapped elastic, it’ll break my hair?
I really thought the days of scrunchies were over. I’d hoped so, anyway. My collection is long-gone. I can’t believe I need to reinvest in what I threw away when I was in 8th grade.

12 04 2008
Susan

Hate to admit that I still own one scrunchy from back in the day that I use every night. My long blonde hair gets in my way but the scrunchy saves me every night from being strangled. However I would rather die than wear that thing in public. Just sayin!

18 04 2008
lilikaofthelake

They sell scrunchies all over but now according to my kids they are simply called “ponies” we all have the long long hair and braiding works – you can do it really loose for the comfort control effect or in about 6-20 small braids for instant princess hair. Braiding works great for wet with sleep in conditioned hair. How about rollers? Those sponge 1950s style ones that our grannies wore? Can you imagine doing that everynight?

Leave a Reply

