I want to be a hooker in New York.

29 04 2008

Hooking in progress

One of our many activities today, on top of yoga and Ben & Jerry’s Free Cone Day, was going to my mom’s weekly rug hooking group. Every Tuesday she meets with the same group of women at the Catholic Church in Richmond, and they sit around together talking, eating, and hooking. She’s been talking about this group for ages, but because I’ve been away for so long I’d never had the chance to meet them. Today she walked me into the room and we were met with claps and warm greetings.
“So Tina,” one woman asked after I was introduced to the group (Tina is my mom’s nickname, and yes, our names rhyme, and no, that wasn’t on purpose), “What’s all the fuss we’re hearing?” And then began my mom’s spiel to this group of concerned women. I watched Mom announce to the group, much like she would begin a lecture in her classroom, about what was happening. The women looked on and listened intently to her words, and then that was it. We ate food (an amazing chocolate cake with the chocolate chips, and warm cinnamon buns), I walked around to each woman to look at their projects.

First of all, I had no idea how intricate hooked rugs can be but also how absolutely relaxing it all looks. Here were these ten or twelve women sitting around, drinking tea and coffee and nibbling snacks, and all creating these beautiful, absolutely stunning rugs, of all sizes and colors. Some had patterns already drawn onto their cloth, others were inventing designs on the spot. Some were making huge rugs with tons of yarn, and others were making small projects to be hung on the walls or on chairs. I was so impressed and suddenly so eager to try to do it myself. One woman sat me down, gave me the small hook and her project to try out. I threaded a thin strip of wool through the cloth a couple of times and felt how fun it could be. I learned so much and felt rug hooking could really be something I could bring to New York as something creative to do to relax, repair, and honestly enjoy.

Look how detailed these projects are!
Close-up on the bear
Close-up on the rabbit
Close-up on a fish

So this summer, when I come home, I am going to learn how to do this, make a beautiful rug, and then bring these skills down to New York with me and teach my students. I think it would be such a great way to spend time with kids, to teach them how to do something creative, and to work on a project in which I can see progress.
I think visible results of any kind of work at a time like this are really important.

And then, of course, there were free cones. Free Cone Day also coincides with my mom’s birthday, so she negotiated two free scoops instead of just the one. And she got her way, which is how things go all the time.

B&J Free Cone Day!


Actions

Information

8 responses

29 04 2008
Alvy

Aw! The cone picture is so cute! You two look great!

I think it’s great that you’ll become a hooker and teach all your students everything you learned through being one! They’ll have lots of fun! Especially when everything’s done and they see what great work they’ve done! And maybe they could even earn some extra money if they’re very good at it! Oh, and happy birthday to your mommy!

29 04 2008
ginacoggio

Ha ha. I can’t wait to be a hooker and I can’t wait to pass on my skills to my future 6th and 7th graders so that they can one day earn money.

(There’s SO much that’s wrong about that sentence.)

29 04 2008
luanaspider

Ms.C,
From that picture your mom looks really nice, not like pretty, im not saying she is not pretty, im saying she´s looks really kind. Well, from what you said about her and how much you care about her she must really be nice, but anyway.
I think it would be somehow strange if you taught hooking to your students, but I think it would be really fun. Strange but fun. We did rhyming today in english it was cool, at least english is flowing not like when your teaching but at lest it is.

Sorry , because im talking crazy here. I hope you have a lot of fun hooking. Well… just have fun!=)

29 04 2008
ginacoggio

Luana, I think you’re nuts. My mom is pretty and she is nice and kind and we are having fun and I’m really happy your English is flowing even thought I’m not there. I’m glad you had a good time rhyming in class and I really hope everyone is behaving!! Keep an eye on them for me! 🙂

29 04 2008
judy winder - kapp

Gina – Thanks you for sharing your wonderful blog. I loved the picture of your mom. This whole thing breaks my heart for all of you; but if there was ever a family who could get through this, it’s yours. Heaven knows your mom helped me get through my dance with the “lower case c” – and you HAVE to look at it that way to win. She is a remarkable woman – one of the best, strongest-willed and funniest I’ve ever know.

I’m so glad you were able to get home to see her. I wouldn’t have made it without my girls, so I’m glad you’re there with her.

Please give her all my love. My thoughts and prayers are with all of you. Love ya, Kapp.

29 04 2008
Susan

Yummy..free Ben and Jerry’s is always a good thing. Happy Birthday to your mom!
Those hookers are amazing women….wow at all that neat work!

30 04 2008
Bill

Hi Gigg…

If you are a hooker in NY, will you be the highly paid and powerful type that can unseat govenors….?

Call me, it would be great to catch up for a bit. Sounds like you are doing great. Congratulations on the apartment and the position.

Bill

30 04 2008
Nilsa S.

I love that you’re getting to spend “everyday” time with your mom. Gina’s and Tina’s Tour de Vermont. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

