A few of my favorite things.

22 06 2008

No turbulence on an airplane.

Needing to use the lav only once during the 10 hour flight.

All of my bags arriving nearly at the same time.

Hearing the customs officer say “Welcome Home” (even though this time it was a bit less dramatic than I’d hoped.)

Hugging Dennis upon walking out of the gates.

Drinking a grande white mocha on the drive home.

Hugging Dennis’ family.

Talking to my step father and hearing the excitement in his voice about my mom’s condition today, or as he calls it, a “Plus Plus Day”.

Talking to my mom.

Hearing her voice sound strong and good and alive for the first time in a long time.

Knowing she has the determination and the support to beat the bad guys.

 

And on the superficial front:

Getting a new cell phone complete with Internet capability and a camera (to blog easily while I’m in the City, I suppose.)

And eating a Subway Veggie Delight with enough spicy peppers to make my eyes melt out through my nose. 

 

 

Today? Was a very. good. day.

 


Actions

Information

10 responses

22 06 2008
marissa

WELCOME HOME!
It sounds like your mom improved at the mere thought of your arrival…
I wish you and her a million more “plus plus days”.
When you are in New Haven and have a night to get out we will have to meet up!

22 06 2008
Jennie

Welcome home! I’m so glad the flight went well. And even more glad for the Plus Plus Day.

22 06 2008
Susan

Yay! Welcome home! Glad you made it back to the US safely! And that your mom had a good day and probably even better knowing your feet were on the ground safely near her.

22 06 2008
kilax

Great! I am happy to hear it went well! Sometimes flights can be… less than great🙂

23 06 2008
lynne cheslin

welcome Gina!!!!Yepeeeeee. Job well done….Enjoy being with Dennis and how wonderful to arrive home to just fantastic, plus,plus,news about your Mom.What an inspiration she always is to all of us that know and adore her….looking forward to spending some time with you this year. Good to know you’re safely home!!!!!!

23 06 2008
Candy Page and Ham Davis

Hey Gina, We’re so glad you’re back within driving range! I know you and your mom have a terrific support network, but if there is ANYTHING we can do, we’re ready to hop in the car, tell jokes (bad ones), cook food, kick the butts of any unsmiling gods.
Love, Candy, Ham and Sara

23 06 2008
Alvy

Oh, wow, Baby C! It seems like you’re really home! This is so exciting! I couldn’t be happier for you! I, myself, love the trip (Full of little favorite things we do often from Sao Paulo to Miami) from here to Miami and now that you’re back for good… I can’t wait to hear more!

I feel kind of bad, though, that Sofy and I never took that picture you so eagerly asked us to take. I noticed that only after I got home from graduation and I felt like crying… I also didn’t like how curt our goodbyes went. But now you’re home, and I couldn’t be happier for you! Congratulations on your new cellphone! Oh, and you better get cable when you get to New York. Are you really going to spend another few years in a new city without cable?

23 06 2008
ladybughugs

Welcome Home!

I’m happy that you’re mother is doing well and that you had an uneventful trip.

24 06 2008
Jen

I’m glad you made it home safely despite all the stresses that occurred just prior to your arrival. Enjoy the time spent with your friends and family.🙂

24 06 2008
Nilsa

Welcome to all good things known as home! Take it all in and enjoy these coming days!

Leave a Reply

