From Home to Home.

25 06 2008

We spent our first night in our new apartment last night. It was a last minute plan and really more of an adventure because we didn’t have a thing in our apartment that would allow us to sleep other than a mattress. So at nearly 10pm, we found ourselves at Target (yay!) just a few miles from our home (yay! yay!) and purchasing apartment necessities including a blanket, sheets, plates, and toilet paper. By the time we returned home, we barely had enough energy to put the sheets on the bed before falling asleep. 

But at 7:45 this morning, I woke up and felt the need to explore. At first I felt trapped, thinking somehow that I didn’t know where I was and couldn’t get around without Dennis’s help, but while he lay sleeping it occurred to me that I didn’t care if I knew where I was because the thing I did know what that there was a Starbucks nearby and God help me if I couldn’t find it. So a few minutes later, I was out of the house and walking on this sunny warm summer day five blocks to the East and found myself the neighborhood Starbucks. I took my time walking back, peering into shops, seeing old men sitting at bars drinking down their pints at 8:15 in the morning. 

Later we bought a couch and drove to CT. 

Now we are on our way further north to Vermont, where we should arrive in five or so hours. So we’re off again on our never-ending travels. Will touch base again when I’m up there.

Thanks all of you for your warm wishes and welcomes. It feels so good to be home. 


Actions

Information

4 responses

25 06 2008
Nilsa

Yay for getting a better sense of what home is going to be like for the near future! I did tell you I’m coming back to New York in early October, right? So, if you want to be a part of the Big Gay Bachelorette Party, you just let me know. Otherwise, I’ll indulge you in a cup of java for a more quiet meet-up. 🙂

25 06 2008
Susan

I heart Target. How fun to spend an unplanned night in your new place!
Safe travels to you both!

26 06 2008
victorpinto0

hey ms.c i am going to new york in a few days tomoroww im going to be out of brazil for my first time and i am going to go to miami tomorow then new york and i would really like to see you again so if you could send me an email with your adress so i could meet you again my email is v6p7n8@gmail.com plz i really want to see you again !!!!!!

26 06 2008
Neil Simon

Congratulations on the move! It’s always a weird feeling when you’re “wearing in” new places. I miss that feeling, hehe

Leave a Reply

