I have to write this.

26 06 2008

I am writing to document the fact that, somewhere and somehow in the past five hours since I have been away from my house and my mother, some magical thing happened. I walked in the door and heard her voice in the background, loud and clear coming from her bedroom as if in mid-conversation on the telephone. I breathed a sigh of relief at that sound.

And when I walked into the bedroom to check on her, there she was: sitting upright at her little desk, staring into her computer screen, with a phone in one hand.

PEOPLE. SHE IS TALKING TO TECH HELP  ABOUT SPYWARE ON HER COMPUTER. THE WOMAN IS SICK, SICK, SICK, AND YET SHE IS CHATTING AWAY ABOUT VERMONT’S WEATHER IN 2007 TO A MAN SHE DOESN’T EVEN KNOW WHO IS HELPING HER FIGURE OUT SOME COMPLICATED PROBLEM ABOUT HER COMPUTER.

I am eavesdropping through the wall and am hearing the life in her voice, this beautiful energy, this determination even through the coughing. I don’t know what happened but I could not be more thankful for this moment. This is the mama I know.

Please, I want to say, Please don’t let this ever end.


Actions

Information

7 responses

27 06 2008
susie craig

Good morning, Tina. I woke up thinking about you…and the good news that you are home, back with those who love you so much – and who you love. That is the best, and none of that is captured by not being well. Know that lots more love from so many directions is also coming your way! Best to all in Jericho. Susie

27 06 2008
luanaspider

Ms.C,

I’m really glad for your mom!!! I was sure things would get better! Tell her I said hi and that she is a very strong person and that I’m sure that this is the first of all the good days to come!!!=)

27 06 2008
ladybughugs

Just make sure she gets rest. Lots of it. I’m really glad she’s feeling better.

27 06 2008
Nilsa

Isn’t it amazing that last year at this time, had you walked into that scene, you might have shrugged your shoulders, scoffed or just flat out ignored it. Today, you take in everything for what it’s worth. And the little things are most definitely priceless.

27 06 2008
Susan

Crazy how the little things that might have annoyed us before bring clarity of life during sickness or loss. Your mom is one amazing little lady and I hope everyday that if I were in her shoes that I could fill them.

27 06 2008
Jennie

She’s just too precious. I can hardly stand it.

27 06 2008
ginacoggio

You’re not the only one! You should see her right now bossing Frank around. I love this.

Leave a Reply

