Recent obsessions.

26 07 2008

A list tonight, and a short one at that, only because I want you to know I’m still alive and haven’t exploded from too much coffee. I’ve had loads of time on my hands here in Vermont and with that, plenty of time to think about the things I find myself loving more than usual. How do you compare?

1. Goat cheese, preferably herbed, and preferably on salad with tomatoes, almonds, sunflower seeds, berries (fresh blueberries and dried cranberries) and a nice, tangy vinaigrette. But just plain goat cheese  will do me just fine. 

2. Coffee. Huge latte breve style. (That’s with half-and-half instead of milk. I am the infrequent sinner these days but this is one for which I shan’t repent.)

3. Fresh blueberries. It’s like I haven’t ever tasted them before, and frankly it’s embarrassing how quickly I can eat a pint.

4. Screening cell phone calls. My cell phone is for my convenience, right? So…often it’s just not convenient. Nothing personal, I just don’t want to talk. That sounds really awful, I know. 

5. Books (although there’s nothing “recent” about this obsession.) I finished “The Penelopiad” by Margaret Atwood and “Farewell to Manzanar” by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston. I am working my way through a third and having a good time with it.

6. Jazz. On the radio, at night, driving on dark country roads. 

7. Getting my pants hemmed. I’m obsessed with this only because I have been carting around two pairs of beautiful jeans back and forth between New York and Vermont for a month and can’t decide where to get them hemmed. I’m thinking I should probably do it in New York. I guess it’s not so much an obsession as it is a chore I can’t decide when to do.

8. Laundry. Did you know if you pay a laundromat they will wash AND fold your laundry? They even fold your UNDERWEAR! And then put them in little bundles and rubberband them together! They don’t use a detergent that smells as good as the laundry detergent my mom uses, but that’s the only downfall. Never again will I do my own laundry. I LOVE New York City.


Actions

Information

3 responses

28 07 2008
Susan

I always screen my phone calls. Yep sometimes I’m rude about it or at least the caller thinks so.
Wow no idea they had laundromat’s that do that kind of service. God bless them. I hate folding laundry.

28 07 2008
Susan

One obsession in my house lately is the chocolates you sent. They are fabulous in all their dark chocolately macadamian nut goodness. Good Lord I could eat the entire thing myself.

29 07 2008
ginacoggio

I’m so happy you like the chocolates!!🙂

Leave a Reply

