What’s that now? You say I have to work?!

18 08 2008

I have found myself in the very last week of summer before my new job begins. How in the world did this happen? How is it possible that nearly eight whole weeks have gone by and now I’ve woken up on the very last Monday of total freedom until June 2009? My colleagues in Brazil have been back at work for weeks already, my colleagues in public schools up here are gearing up for their start (one of whom went back just today) and now here I am in my final days and I find myself in complete and total denial.

It’s not that I don’t want to go back to work; I really do. I’m so excited to meet my new colleagues, so excited to meet my new students who I imagine come from all parts of the globe, so excited to finally be “doing” something. Oh, but this is a thing all teacher everywhere know: once it begins, there’s no stopping it for ten months straight. It’s like running a marathon where walking, slowing down, or dropping out is not allowed, and the kicker is, you have to finish at the same time as everyone else or you won’t be allowed to run anymore. All of you out there in year-round, 9-5 jobs have no idea about the intensity of the teaching year. Come next Monday, the gun will be fired and I won’t stop until June. Sure, there are some moments of respite thrown in, but those are few and far between. 

I know, wah, wah, wah, I’ve just had two months off in a row and I spend my days lolling around in bed until I feel like getting up, and sometimes I don’t shower, and I can have a mid-day beer after spending the morning walking around Manhattan and picking out cat toys for Otis. Poor Baby Gina. I won’t justify my complaints any longer, but instead take my part in the collective groan of teachers everywhere. 

Geh.


Actions

Information

4 responses

18 08 2008
Jon

GEHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

18 08 2008
Rachel L

Ever read that Shel Silverstein poem, “Sick?” Your headline reminded me of that:

“I cannot go to school today,”
Said little Peggy Ann McKay.
“I have the measles and the mumps,
A gash, a rash and purple bumps.
My mouth is wet, my throat is dry,
I’m going blind in my right eye.
My tonsils are as big as rocks,
I’ve counted sixteen chicken pox
And there’s one more–that’s seventeen,
And don’t you think my face looks green?
My leg is cut–my eyes are blue–
It might be instamatic flu.
I cough and sneeze and gasp and choke,
I’m sure that my left leg is broke–
My hip hurts when I move my chin,
My belly button’s caving in,
My back is wrenched, my ankle’s sprained,
My ‘pendix pains each time it rains.
My nose is cold, my toes are numb.
I have a sliver in my thumb.
My neck is stiff, my voice is weak,
I hardly whisper when I speak.
My tongue is filling up my mouth,
I think my hair is falling out.
My elbow’s bent, my spine ain’t straight,
My temperature is one-o-eight.
My brain is shrunk, I cannot hear,
There is a hole inside my ear.
I have a hangnail, and my heart is–what?
What’s that? What’s that you say?
You say today is. . .Saturday?
G’bye, I’m going out to play!”

19 08 2008
Susan

You see though you are not a what I called in my post yesterday a LAZY teacher. You get excited about your new class and colleagues. Some do not like my friend who has moaned and groaned the entire summer. Geh to her. I’m excited to read about your new class and all the new adventures.

19 08 2008
Joyce

I am with you on this one. No one but a teacher can understand. See you next June. Hope you have a great year!!!!

Leave a Reply

